Advanced Search

Thread: How to Store/Edit/Retrieve Central Data for Free?

Thanks

Default How to Store/Edit/Retrieve Central Data for Free?

Hello, I am a JavaScript newbie with many years experience writing Windows software using C++, and a tiny smattering of html and css, but no other web experience.

I am currently building a website.

What I want is to get some data from the user. I reckon I can use a form for this. Specifically I want to get a couple of strings, and I want to increase a global counter and then feed the result back to the user. Or more concretely, I want to let the user know that they are the nth person to order my product, and I want to give them the opportunity to add a comment which will then be displayed on the website for posterity.

Currently I'm teaching myself JavaScript, which is great for basic interactivity, but I presume I'm right in thinking that because it's a client-side thing, it's not much use for writing data away to / fetching data from a central location. I'll need to be able to store a string, access the current number of orders, increase it, and display the result to the user.

I have no software and no money (and no job).

Is there a simple server-side wotsit I can use for free that will allow me to store/access/edit/retrieve simple data on a server?

Thanks

Your server must have a serverside language like PHP. Any serverside language will work-- PHP, ASP, JSP, CGI, Perl, etc.

And it'll be easier if you have a database (like MySQL). If you don't, you'll need to store things in text files which can be fine for some data but once it starts to get complex, it can be very hard to keep everything organized.