Thread: left click to save as

Thanks

Post left click to save as

hi, my question is about the same as an existing post but I didn't understand it and I need help for another type of file.

I have a mp3 website and when users search of a song, it simply crawls the web to find it from different sources. My download links are currently direct links to the mp3 song found so the users need to right click and "save link target as" to get the song. I would like users to be able to simply left click on the link to download.

I googled and found a php script that may help me but i don't understand how to implement it (I'm new to php) here is the link.

So please help me find a way to download mp3's with a left click, thank you.

Thanks

This is complex.
    The browser decides what to do with a file. The only way to get the browser to download instead of viewing (since it's basically the same behavior, based on what the browser thinks it should do) is to trick the browser into thinking it's another kind of file.
    So you use a different header and the browser thinks it can't play it, etc.

One guaranteed way is to offer your mp3s within zip files. Then the user must download that and extract it, and it saves bandwidth. It's one more step for the user, but that guarantees they can't play it.

Basically you can look for several ways to fake the filetype but it won't be easy or work in all browsers.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| español | Deutsch | italiano | português | català | un peu de français | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

Thanks

Hi imSOmusic ! To my big surprise it actually works the script you are linking to.
    I made a quick test of it and you can see it HERE. Sorry this link and the files on my server are removed for security reasons