Advanced Search

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Chrome CSS dropdown menu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Chrome CSS dropdown menu

    I have installed the Chrome CSS dropdown menu and it is working fine BUT I cannot configure it so that the background matches my page background or for the text and rollover text to appear in the colors I want. Help me please! Perky

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    845
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 189 Times in 188 Posts

    Default

    A link to your site and some info about what colors you want would help.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hey thanks - I resolved the first part and it has adopted the site background color and I guess i will be able to change the font and color now without too much difficulty thanks.

    Now I have uploaded it - I have another problem! The page shows fine on my local browser but on the remote server it is only showing as text, Would be great if you could help with this?

    http://www.angels-cake.co.uk/AC1.html

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    845
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 189 Times in 188 Posts

    Default

    There is a problem with the path to the chromestyle.css and chrome.js file. also the path to mm_restaurant1.css is not working
    try to change for example
    chrometheme/chromestyle.css
    to
    /chromestyle.css
    A good way to check if the path is working is to view the page source in your firefox browser. There you can click and follow the links directly and see if they lead you to the right file. ( this doesn't work in IE )
    you will have to change the other paths as well to get it working.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to azoomer For This Useful Post:

    perky (07-01-2010)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Chrome CSS

    I'm still beat! I changed the code as suggested and it did not make any difference in the web browser and on my local browser I lost the menu too!

    So where do I GO FROM HERE? Help!

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    845
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 189 Times in 188 Posts

    Default

    right now on your webpage where you have this link
    http://www.angels-cake.co.uk/chromejs/chrome.js
    Try to change it to this
    http://www.angels-cake.co.uk/chrome.js

    and you also have this
    http://www.angels-cake.co.uk/chrometheme/chromestyle.css
    change that to
    http://www.angels-cake.co.uk/chromestyle.css

    the last file you link to is
    mm_restaurant1.css
    Right now I cannot locate that one. Do you know where you have it on the server ?

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to azoomer For This Useful Post:

    perky (07-06-2010)

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Smile Stuck!

    Hi I've tried all your suggestions (and other ideas too) but still it will not work for me!
    Any more ideas?

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    845
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 189 Times in 188 Posts

    Default

    Hi Perky. I have attached a folder with your page. If you download it and unzip it you should be able to open the file called index.html in your browser. I hope the menu will be working then. You can upload the whole folder (the inner folder named perky) to the root of you website and you should be able to see the same if you follow this link
    http://www.angels-cake.co.uk/perky. It should automatically open the index.html then.
    Regarding the background of the menu; right now there is the default chrometheme but it can easily be changed if you open the chromestyle.css in the css folder.
    There you can find
    Code:
    .chromestyle ul{
    border: 1px solid #BBB;
    width: 100%;
    background: url(../images/chromebg.gif) center center repeat-x; /*THEME CHANGE HERE*/
    padding: 4px 0;
    margin: 0;
    text-align: center; /*set value to "left", "center", or "right"*/
    }
    you can change
    background: url(../images/chromebg.gif) center center repeat-x;
    to another image or you can just change it to a color, for example
    background: #DDDDDD;
    or whatever color you want or even
    background:transparent;
    if you want it to be transparent allowing the background of the page to be seen.
    You can make similar changes in this paragraph
    Code:
    .chromestyle ul li a:hover, .chromestyle ul li a.selected{ /*script dynamically adds a class of "selected" to the current active menu item*/
    background: url(../images/chromebg-over.gif) center center repeat-x; /*THEME CHANGE HERE*/
    }
    which wil determine the hover state of the menu.

    I still don't know where the mm_restaurant1.css is, or what it is used for, but if you need this css, just put it in the css folder next to the chromestyle.css.
    On the other hand if it is not needed you can delete the link to it.
    Also I am wondering what the other javascript on the page is, the part that starts with:
    function MM_timelinePlay(tmLnName, myID)

    It looks like a very old script and i don't know what it is for or if you put it there. If you didn't deliberately put it on the page for some reason, you might want to get rid of it ( delete it) and this part with it onload="MM_timelinePlay('Timeline1')".
    Tell me if this works out for you and if you need some changes.
    Last edited by azoomer; 07-07-2010 at 12:09 AM.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi azoomer
    Been away to Paris for a week - then in hospital with kidney stones!! At last Im back trying to get this menu working.

    I have copied all the files over from the zip you sent through and uploaded them - BUT still the menu just shows as text - Oh i renamed index to AC1

    http://www.angels-cake.co.uk/AC1.html

    Where am I going wrong - it always works brilliantly in my local browser????

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    845
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 189 Times in 188 Posts

    Default

    Hi Perky, I'm sorry to hear about your kidney stones, that must have been very painful. Hope you are better now.
    Regarding the page, what has gone wrong is the paths to the files. Right now I can find the css file at this url
    http://www.angels-cake.co.uk/chromestyle.css
    and the javascript at this url
    http://www.angels-cake.co.uk/chrome.js
    That means that they do not exist at the location on the server that the page is linking to. Somehow you must have copied them out of the js folder and css folder before uploading. It is difficult for me to explain about folder structure, but you need to learn a little more about folder structure, absolute - and relative- paths on a server. That would make things a lot easier for you.
    What I would suggest now is the same as in my previous post. That you unzip the zipfolder named perky on your desktop. When you open the unzipped folder there is another folder inside with the same name(perky). If you take this inner folder and upload the WHOLE folder to the root of your domain you can make it work. You should not rename anything or copy or upload any individual files. ONLY the inner folder named perky should be uploaded in its entirety. That way you should be able to see the page at this url
    http://www.angels-cake.co.uk/perky
    I know that you want to change the names and the placement of the files at some point in time, but I think the most important thing right now is trying to make the page display correctly on your server first. Then you can rearrange and rename things later.
    I'd be happy to try to help you along the way, but just try to drag the whole (inner) perky folder up to the root of your domain first. Tell me when you have done that and we can take it from there.

    ps. I wonder how you upload files to your sever. Do you have an ftp client ? I hope so, otherwise I suggest you get fileZilla and learn to use that. It's free and very very useful.
    Last edited by azoomer; 07-29-2010 at 09:56 PM.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to azoomer For This Useful Post:

    perky (07-30-2010)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •