Thread: how to display the title of page in that pages specific URL/link?

Thanks

Smile how to display the title of page in that pages specific URL/link?

Hi, I'm new to PHP and I took on the challenge to build a simple blog using PHP that is similar to wordpress.

My question is how can I display the title of the entry in the URL of that specific entry page like for example

www.example.com/hello-world

or real life example would be this random site that i pulled from wordpress

http://lesbonurse.wordpress.com/

and when you click on each blog entry title it redirects to its own page with the title in the URL like so

http://lesbonurse.wordpress.com/2010/03/21/i-think-the-word-youre-looking-for-is-possible/

and the title of entry that i clicked on the main page is " I think the word youre looking for is possible"

I hope you understand what i m trying to acheive, its really complicated to explain when I m new to PHP.

My blog script consists of PHP with mysqel and i can get the blog running perfectly except when i click on the entires of my blog the URL is similar to

/view.php?$id=246

My goal is to change "..../view.php?$id=246" into the title of the entry for example "..../hello-world"

Is it possible to hide "view.php?$id=246" and change it to title of entry?

Can you please help me to solve this problem?

Thanks

This is not possible using PHP. What you need is to actually request the page at that new "URL".
    Then using something called mod_rewrite, you can dynamically and seemlessly (read "magically") give the user a different page than what they requested.
    A simple example: the user requests 1.php, then your server sends them 2.php, BUT it still reads "1.php" in the URL bar.
    It's very confusing to use because the syntax is hard (regular expressions ["regex"]) and if that isn't enough, it's obviously hard to test because it just operates and you can't see why, but just the results.