Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: is my database full?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Exclamation is my database full?

    i have a users database with 13 registered users, but now when anyone tries to register, it fails. i created another user table and connected the script to it and register works on an empty database. so does this mean the original database is full? if so, is there a way i could connect to multiple databases?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,486
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    It depends on your hosting providers set up and limits.

    A lot depends on number of connections allowed per hour, etc.

    Why do you need so many users for one database though?
    {CWoT - Riddle } {OSTU - Psycho} {Invasion - Team}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @Negative_Chaos
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    its a website registration so only registered users can see site content. could i use multiple databases for the one script?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,486
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    If you wanted, but you can also use one connection for all the users.

    Unless they are perhaps browsing around in your database for some reason? If you are just storing/retrieving the log in info, then you only need one database user. (like forum software does).
    {CWoT - Riddle } {OSTU - Psycho} {Invasion - Team}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @Negative_Chaos
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Falkirk, Scotland
    Posts
    142
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    yeah, its only for storing/retrieving their info. is there any way i could get round this?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,486
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Yeah.. have one user account for your database. one password.

    When the users log in, have the php connect to the database using that one log in name and password.

    Problem solved.

    The info retrieved will be based on their log in credentials. so mary wont see jacks stuff, etc.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {OSTU - Psycho} {Invasion - Team}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @Negative_Chaos
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •