Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Silly question about a menu script (PLEASE help!)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Silly question about a menu script (PLEASE help!)

    Hello,

    I've been using this menu script for a while and just wanted to implement my first menu link address change.

    I thought it was simple enough, so I opened the ssmItems.js file in WordPad (just like when I created it), changed the link to one of the menu items to the new address, saved the file in WordPad and then replaced my old version of the file on my server and the link address didn't change.

    FYI I also opened the file again and saw that the web address change was there on my server and even replaced the orignal ssm.js file on my server since I'm at a loss, but no luck.

    I thought this was going to be simple.

    Any hints or advice would be GREATLY appreciated!!!

    Here's the link if it helps:

    http://www.sophiesophie.com
    Last edited by sillyoldme; 10-04-2005 at 06:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    What link is new, what link is old? Did you try refreshing the page?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    some general advice:

    sometimes minor changes to your webpage aren't immediately picked up by your browser, cause it has some of the files already in some temp folder. close your browser, clean out all temp folders on your computer and open the page again.

    what link did you update btw?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the response. I refreshed and opened a new browser, but I didn't clean the temp folders.

    FYI the link is Soph & Char's Digital Pictures.

    I cleaned out the temp folders, cookies and history and opened a new browser and it still doesn't work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    What did Soph & Char's Digital Pictures link to before, what is it supposed to link to now?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jscheuer1
    What did Soph & Char's Digital Pictures link to before, what is it supposed to link to now?
    Before:

    http://www.angelfire.com/va3/sophie/digital/

    After:

    http://www.dotphoto.com/Go.asp?l=sop...ID=2892456&T=1

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    i can see the updated link, so i guess your browser still isnt refreshed for some reason.

    what could be the cause of that, professor?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bobbby
    i can see the updated link, so i guess your browser still isnt refreshed for some reason.

    what could be the cause of that, professor?
    I'm perplexed. FYI I even tried it on Opera and it has the old link.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Just for clarity's sake, this is where it links to now:

    http://www.dotphoto.com/Go.asp?l=sop...ID=2892456&T=1

    Is that what you wanted?

    There are at least a couple of reasons why a page may not update. Having stuff in 'temp' folders is irrelevant except for the browser(s)' cache directory which is best cleared using the browser's clear cache option because it almost never is a directory easily found or cleared otherwise, except by users very familiar with their computers.

    If you open up a local page by mistake and haven't updated it, that can cause the same thing. In some cases the file involved is a different one than you think. That should not be the case here.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jscheuer1
    Just for clarity's sake, this is where it links to now:

    http://www.dotphoto.com/Go.asp?l=sop...ID=2892456&T=1

    Is that what you wanted?

    There are at least a couple of reasons why a page may not update. Having stuff in 'temp' folders is irrelevant except for the browser(s)' cache directory which is best cleared using the browser's clear cache option because it almost never is a directory easily found or cleared otherwise, except by users very familiar with their computers.

    If you open up a local page by mistake and haven't updated it, that can cause the same thing. In some cases the file involved is a different one than you think. That should not be the case here.
    That is the "new" link. I thought I was familiar with my computer, but isn't IE's cache directory under Tools>Internet Options>General Tab??

    If not, can you give me a hint?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •