Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Help with Ajax RSS script mod

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Help with Ajax RSS script mod

    1) Script Title: gAjax RSS Pausing Scroller (hosted)

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...sescroller.htm

    3) Describe problem: First, thank you very much for this script set, works like a beauty... I've already modified it a bit to change the scroll delay by the user.

    I need a further mod which I can't seem to figure out. I have a form popup menu that has several different rss feeds. I want to be able to kill the current rss feed and reset to a different one from the popup menu. All my attempts just turn the entire page blank. I'm guessing one or both the js scripts will need an additional function or two but I'm just not savvy enough to figure this out.

    TIA
    Last edited by aztech4mac; 03-01-2010 at 11:58 PM. Reason: title channge...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    You want to change rss feeds in the parent from a popup?
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI!
    Beta is Latin for still doesn’t work.
    Mac users swear by their Mac, PC users swear at their PC.
    Keyboard not found...Press any key to continue.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Yes, the init code is set to add one or more url's. Adding more than one just mixes the rss feeds. I only want one feed at a time. My popup has multiple url's for different rss feeds. I want the user to be able to select a feed from the popup. Basically I'll need to flush the current feed and substitute another feed. I've browsed the js files to see if there was a global way to do this and I didn't see any, but I'm just not that savvy on js to be sure I haven't overlooked the obvious. Any ideas...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    What a database that holds the rss feeds,
    Open a popup - change the feed, refresh the parent and close the popup.
    I am sure there are ajax methods for this.
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI!
    Beta is Latin for still doesn’t work.
    Mac users swear by their Mac, PC users swear at their PC.
    Keyboard not found...Press any key to continue.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I'm using googles ajax rss thingie... I have a list if url's in the popup menu's value property. I initialize the the feed with one of the url in the popup. The popup is not the problem. I can't seem to find a way to manipulate the js to swap the feed url. Have you looked at the code for this? The link is on my first post. The code as is, is meant to only use what was initially entered in the initial setup code, I need to swap the initial url with a new one from the popup then call the fetch routine again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Ok, maybe I'm asking the wrong question...

    How about, is there a way to remove the current feed? there is already code to add a new feed. Seems I can get what I need if I can remove a feed then add a new. I'm guessing that 95% of what I need is already there.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Do you have an example of what you want?
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI!
    Beta is Latin for still doesn’t work.
    Mac users swear by their Mac, PC users swear at their PC.
    Keyboard not found...Press any key to continue.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    101... I'm not understanding your last post.

    I think I'm being clear. I need a mod to the javascript code for the AJAX RSS scroller. I can work out how to use it from the poupmenu. You're focused on the popup and I need the js modded.

    So, one more time. I need to have the ability to clear a current rss feed being displayed in the scroller and add a different one. That's all, nothing more, there is no example to see, nothing to show, just an additional or modified function to the js code used in the scroller.

    But thanks for helping bump this to the top...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aztech4mac View Post
    I'm not understanding your last post.
    But thanks for helping bump this to the top...
    The intention was to see if you actually had any code
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI!
    Beta is Latin for still doesn’t work.
    Mac users swear by their Mac, PC users swear at their PC.
    Keyboard not found...Press any key to continue.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    101 I know you are trying to be helpful, but have you even looked at the example? There is no HTML, There is two external js files and an inline js init code block.

    I have not modified the code at all. I have added one line to my web js to change the scroll delay...

    newsfeed.delay=3000

    To be clear, the example works just as it was intended to and I have it working with a single rss feed. The purpose of my original post was to get some assistance in modifying the original js to extend the functionality of the example.

    Frankly, I don't see why the guys at DD wouldn't jump on this at it seems to me it would be a nice and welcome addition the the original code.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •