Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: includes:

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default includes:

    Please, please forgive me if i am posting a silly question that all you php people will think is so easy but i have tried and tried to get this sorted.

    Sorry my name is Bill and i'm a photographer building a website to show images.

    Have tried many gallery scripts and am going with this last one.

    The problem i can't get my head around is this...
    The install file states... edit the .php header or .php footer to add your own but when i open header.php...or footer in my editor its a blank page so i am stuck!!
    I have an include navmenu.shtml file that i need to add but cant figure how to add it to this blank header.php???
    Hope is running out lol

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Anyone?

    Suppose i am being very impatient but if nobody knows the way to go for me thats fine.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    So.Cal
    Posts
    3,643
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 516 Times in 502 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default

    Please post/link to your gallery script. No one can help if we can't see what you're doing...!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default includes:

    Hi,
    The script is named picKLE
    Got an idea how to handle most of it...

    This is the relevant part from the install... file

    __________________

    INSTALLATION
    __________________





    (tested with apache 1.3.27 and php 4.3.2 - both win32 and unix/linux)
    - Move the picKLE directory to a path accessable to the web
    - Edit the picKLE-conf.php and make any changes
    - chmod 777 picKLE-cache (win32 make sure webserver can write to picKLE-cache)
    - Place directories of jpg, jpeg, gif, and png file in the picKLE-albums directory
    - Edit header.php and footer.php in picKLE-includes if you want to add your sites header and footer

    But when i open header or footer php there is no code.. blank page?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by terriers33 View Post
    if you want to add your sites header and footer
    They are blank so that you can add your own header/footer.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default RE: includes:

    Thank you,
    That part i understand but i am not a coder...
    If it's blank and i have an include .shtml file how would i go about doing it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    So.Cal
    Posts
    3,643
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 516 Times in 502 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default

    header.php
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    include('/path/to/your/header.shtml');
    ?>
    and the same for footer.php

    If you have any further problems with this, please post a link to the picKLE script and show us the code you've written/modified so we can be of better help.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Sialkot
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation is that possible ?

    is that possible that can we include a html page in php page ? reply must

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    So.Cal
    Posts
    3,643
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 516 Times in 502 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi,
    I have tried that already... please see images.

    In the editor all that the header.php file contains is what i have put in it...
    <? include('header.shtml') ?>

    Saved it, uploaded it to replace the header.php in the includes folder, put the header.shtml into the includes folder?

    I really am stuck on this, i am missing something simple but cant figure out what!
    Thanks.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •