Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Windows Media Player problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Windows Media Player problem

    For some reason I am getting an error message that says that my Widows Media Player is not compatable. I am using Widows XP Home edition and this has just started to pop up when i try to use the Media player. Can anyone give me a clue in where to look for help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,876
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Widows So apt.
    Anyway... can you post the exact message you get?
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Media Player problem

    Sorry about the typo, probably won't be the last one.. Below is the message I get when I try to use the media player.


    This version of Windows Media Technologies is incompatible with this version of Windows. For more information, view the information at the Microsoft web site.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,876
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    No, I loved it
    Hm... what version of Windows are you running? If XP, try downloading/installing WMP10. Warning: validation/"genuine advantage" rubbish required.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I am running Windows XP Home edition. I tried downloading the program you suggested and when i try to run it I get the same error message.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    1,563
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    See if "Windows Media Technologies" is in your Add/Remove programs list.

    If it is, remove it and reinstall WMP10.
    I've only got Windows Media Technologies errors from my Server 2003 systems, never from normal user systems.

    cr3ative
    A retired member, drop me a line through my site if you'd like to find me!
    cr3ative media | read the stickies

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I checked and Windows Media Tech. is not in my list? Seems very strange to me. It just stopped working this week.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I have the same problem and it really sucks
    It is not in my add/remove programs. I tried to check the microsoft website but no help. It says
    This version of Windows Media Technologies is incompatible with this version of Windows. For more information, view the information at the Microsoft web site.

    I went to the link it had and all it showed was to download mplayer 11. I did and it still didn't work. It also said that the wmv.core.dll something was needed. I downloaded it but I don't know what to with it from there...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,876
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Ah, welcome to DLL hell. Try http://www.dllfiles.com/. Place the required files in your system32 directory.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I did that and it still didn't work this sucks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •