Thread: Highlight current page in navigation menu

Thanks

Default Highlight current page in navigation menu

I'm new to css and webpage design in general. I am trying to build a navigation menu that does the following; change white when hovered over and once you click on the link and get directed to the page, have that link be bold showing that you are on that page. This is what I have so far:

<style type="text/css">
    <!--
    A:link { color: #70241E }
    A:visited { color: #70241E}
    A:hover { color: #FFFFFF }
    -->
    </style>

I've attached Image1.jpg to show 'virtual tours' as being the current page. This navigation menu is a java script, but I'm trying to do this without java

Thanks

Anyone have any idea how to do this? If I understood all this code better I could probably piece together other posts and figure it out, but I'm just getting started. I'm reading up on CSS and HTML but haven't found a solution yet. I was thinking it would be the a:active command but that doesn't seem to go far enough. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Thanks

So the only thing your having a problem with is the current page being selected?

Code:
    <style type="text/css">
    <!--
    .active {font-weight:bold;}
    -->
    </style>
    Code:
      <a href="test.html">TEST</a>
      <a class="active" href="test.html">TEST</a>
    Then move the active to the current page in the menu bar. Unless the menu bar isn't static. In that case you would need to could make a php function that reads the address bar then outputs the class active into the appropriate link or maybe a javascript one but I'm not sure how to on the javascript.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to bluewalrus For This Useful Post:

djgriff (09-15-2009)

Thanks

Thanks for the reply!!
    I hope you have a little bit of patience left,,, but are you telling me that I put your portion of code (with test replaced with the Link.htmls on my page) within this other code, or after it?

Thanks