Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Losing dropdown menu with IFrame

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Losing dropdown menu with IFrame

    1) Script Title: All Levels Menu

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...menu/index.htm

    3) Describe problem:
    I posted this problem a few months ago and it hasn't been resolved yet. Hoping a new post might bring results.

    We have implemented a customer portal that loads an IFrame just below the navigation menus. The main page is http and the IFrame is https. After the IFrame loads, the drop downs disappear unless you mouse down very quickly.

    The problem only occurs in IE, or in FF with the I.E. engine (via the IE Tab add-on).

    Additional details:
    I'm using All Levels Menu 1.32 on the web site. I tried v2.2, and it doesn't resolve the problem.

    The httpsiframesrc parameter is enabled and is pointing to a blank.html page on the https server, but this doesn't make any difference. Also tried pointing to a blank page on the http server but that makes no difference.

    The problem can be viewed here:
    http://www. symark. com (remove the spaces)

    Login with I.E. using the "Visit the Support Center" link at the bottom left of the page.
    Username: Test123
    Password: test

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,918
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 969 Times in 957 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    Try applying the same fix mentioned in this thread to the .js file: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=47144
    DD Admin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Just tried your suggestion. I had to use the v2.2 .js file because my older version did not contain that exact code. Bottom line, it didn't help

    The 2.2 script is running on this test page: www . symark . com / portal . html

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,918
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 969 Times in 957 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    Are you sure? I created a test frames page with the script in one frame, and it works correctly in IE8. Here's the modified .js file in case you made an error.
    DD Admin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Yes, I still have the problem after using the script you provided. You can see for yourself at the URL in my previous post. Same login credentials.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,918
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 969 Times in 957 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    Upon logging in, which IFRAME contains the menu? All I see is the main menu bar at the top, which isn't inside an IFRAME.
    DD Admin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    The menus are still on the original page. The new IFrame starts just below the menus. Notice that when the page is first loaded, it is a single page and the menus work fine, but after logging into the portal, the menus disappear under the IFrame (Unless you mouse down very quickly).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Have we reached a dead end on this problem?
    Last edited by silverbob; 08-07-2009 at 05:11 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Just for the heck of it, I replaced my All Levels Menu with the DD Smooth Navigation Menu. Bottom line: same problem. Actually worse, the Smooth Menu drop downs don't appear at all when the IFrame is loaded.

    I need to find a menu script that will work on my company web site.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •