Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Drag able elements script.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Drag able elements script.

    Drag able elements script.

    I administer a football supporters site and have been looking for something to make it a little more interactive.

    When watching football every one of us thinks we can do better so what i would lke to be able to do is have a football pitch and allow the user to describe what should have happened.

    With this in mind I have got a picture of the park, taken all our players and taken jpegs of their heads and used the script to make them dragable. It works very well.

    Now to make this usable I have to find a way of making the items stick when they are moved on to the pitch, at the present time once the page is refreshed everything goes back to the initial set up.

    Can anything be done?
    Last edited by Chris Mac; 10-25-2004 at 09:05 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I take it I'm on my own with this one, back to the drawing board then

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    1,563
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    The only way to save the coordinates would be with cookies, but I'm no expert there.

    I'm sure if we did a lot of research it could be done.


    cr3ative
    A retired member, drop me a line through my site if you'd like to find me!
    cr3ative media | read the stickies

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,140
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Unfortunately this would be a rather big project just on its own, as cr3ative mentioned.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Ok guys thanks for having a look for me

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Help!!!

    Hey um...i'm new here but have been toying with DymanicDrive's scripts for soem time. i'd just like to know why when i place the drag element onto a php page, say on phpBB which i did..., why does it cause an error? the float left script (also from DynamicDrive) seems to work. so does the expand script. but not the drag script...i'd love to have it worked out tho. so plz help asap! thx!
    ps.: HAVE YOU SMILED TODAY? lol kidding...just i'm using this Q onto my site http://unlimitedinfinity.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    PHP pages often use scripts to save on the server for those times when the client can perform some of the tasks. If this is the case, it could be a conflict with one of those scripts. Also, if you already have another script on the page, that could be the source of trouble. Finally, if your server, as many do, puts its own scripts on your pages for ads or whatever, they could be the source of conflicts.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    heck u're not getting me. firstly let me rewrite my situation:
    i placed a TAGBOARD with a expand content script i got frm DD; then i placed all that in the float menu script frm DD.
    it seems when i minimize my content and scroll, it's perfect. But...wheh i have my content (note the content is a TAGBOARD with iframe and all) expanded and i scroll, the whole thing is supposed to follow me no? it doesn't. instead IE produces an error and you get that "send report // don't send" window. that causes me to close all my IE processes.
    in other words, my IE hangs. why does this happen? is the float menu script not compatitable with an iframe? (i've done thing b4 but nothing untoward had happened, just taht this time the expand script was added) ALSO NOTE: i'm using a PHP page. note a phpBB generated page.
    and ontop of all that, dragging simply doesn't seem to work...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    OK, this sounds complicated. I opened the link from your post before and couldn't duplicate your error. I imagine you don't have the error prone code there anyway. Just thought I'd look. You mention a number of scripts. Just for clarity's sake, please list their names as shown on the page where you found them along with a link to each script's page. Also, a link to a live demo of the problem page (it can be just a test page) with instructions as to how to duplicate the error would be a great help.

    I've got a question, are you trying to float a collapsible iframe? If so, is its content dynamically generated or its source dynamically changed or its source from another domain than the container page?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    well actually it's ok now. just taht somehow teh combo dodn't wnat to work with IE...it was perfect in Firefox *shrug* list tey codes? well...
    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...tchcontent.htm
    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...staticmenu.htm
    plus a TAGBOARD (dynamic pages in an iFrame of course)
    and the dragable script this thread is named

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •