Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Help with Rtl menu and IE8

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Help with Rtl menu and IE8

    1) Script Title: Glossy Accordion Menu

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...enu-glossy.htm

    3) Describe problem: I recently upgraded my browser to IE8. When I entered my site, I've noticed that the menu which I set to be in a RTL mode, doesn't work good, and it shows the title text as LTR.

    The problem only occurs while using IE8.

    You can see an example on: http://www.epays.co.il/E-Shop/Index.asp?UserID=10843

    Can someone help me please?
    Last edited by Snookerman; 05-09-2009 at 02:30 PM. Reason: added “Resolved” prefix

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,143
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    I'm not sure this is an issue with the script itself. Sounds like a problem with IE8's handling of text orientation in general- have you researched the problem on Google?
    DD Admin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,023
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 319 Times in 318 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Try using a valid doctype, add this before the <html> tag:
    HTML Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
    Good luck!
    Eddy Proca
    I love Dropbox. Get it through my girlfriend's referral link (I reached my limit) and both you and her get 500 MB extra! Thanks and you're welcome!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hello,

    You are right. When I add the line it works.

    The problem is that everything else doesn't. The entire design changes.

    You can see an example:
    With the line:
    http://www.epays.co.il/E-Shop/Index.asp?UserID=1&W3c=1

    Without the line:
    http://www.epays.co.il/E-Shop/Index.asp?UserID=1

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,023
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 319 Times in 318 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    You will have to validate your page, that should take care of most problems.
    Eddy Proca
    I love Dropbox. Get it through my girlfriend's referral link (I reached my limit) and both you and her get 500 MB extra! Thanks and you're welcome!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I don't understand the errors...

    Is there another way?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I've solved it: All I had to do is to change the value of width in .glossymenu a.menuitem from "Auto" to "100%"

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •