Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Setting up an "Intranet"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    303
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 36 Times in 36 Posts

    Default Setting up an "Intranet"

    What I'm wanting to do, is set up a private server that only members of our network can access. I already have a working MySQL, PHP5, and Apache2 setup, and I can access http://localhost from my computer, but I can't access Localhost from any other computer on the network - just mine.

    My question is - how do I set up a home server so that all the computers in my network can view the website? I don't want to put it on the web, just network-wide.

    Is this possible? If so, how do I do it?

    Thanks,
    X96 WD
    Alex Blackie, X96 Design
    My Website
    I specialize in: HTML5, CSS3, PHP, Ruby on Rails, MySQL, MongoDB, Linux Server Administration

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,168
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 628 Times in 624 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Set your port to 80, and put Wamp online. If that doesn't work, search google.
    http://lmgtfy.com/?q=localhost+port+80+online+wamp
    Jeremy | jfein.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    303
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 36 Times in 36 Posts

    Default

    Is that just for Windows? I'm running Linux (Ubuntu 9.04)

    // X96 WD \\
    Alex Blackie, X96 Design
    My Website
    I specialize in: HTML5, CSS3, PHP, Ruby on Rails, MySQL, MongoDB, Linux Server Administration

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bristol - UK
    Posts
    842
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 132 Times in 131 Posts

    Default

    There is an alternative, called XAMPP:

    http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-linux.html#374

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    303
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 36 Times in 36 Posts

    Default

    Thanks Schmoopy, I'll definitely give XAMPP a try.. Downloading now...

    // X96
    Alex Blackie, X96 Design
    My Website
    I specialize in: HTML5, CSS3, PHP, Ruby on Rails, MySQL, MongoDB, Linux Server Administration

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    303
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 36 Times in 36 Posts

    Default

    How do I configure LAMPP?

    I downloaded extracted it, and now I'm sitting here in terminal not knowing what to do, when I try to run ./build.sh it just sits there, nothing happens, and when I go to start it it won't work...

    I'm using sudo before everything to run it as root...

    // X96 \\
    Alex Blackie, X96 Design
    My Website
    I specialize in: HTML5, CSS3, PHP, Ruby on Rails, MySQL, MongoDB, Linux Server Administration

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    303
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 36 Times in 36 Posts

    Default

    Never Mind, just had to actually read the install insutrctions!

    Going to test it now...

    // X95+1 \\
    Alex Blackie, X96 Design
    My Website
    I specialize in: HTML5, CSS3, PHP, Ruby on Rails, MySQL, MongoDB, Linux Server Administration

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    303
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 36 Times in 36 Posts

    Default

    For some reason I uninstalled MySQL, but I need it back. It won't come back.

    I used: sudo apt-get install mysql-server, and everything seems to work, then I get this:
    * Reloading AppArmor profiles ... [ OK ]
    * Starting MySQL database server mysqld [fail]
    invoke-rc.d: initscript mysql, action "start" failed.
    dpkg: error processing mysql-server-5.0 (--configure):
    subprocess post-installation script returned error exit status 1
    dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of mysql-server:
    mysql-server depends on mysql-server-5.0; however:
    Package mysql-server-5.0 is not configured yet.
    dpkg: error processing mysql-server (--configure):
    dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
    No apport report written because the error message indicates its a followup error from a previous failure.
    Errors were encountered while processing:
    mysql-server-5.0
    mysql-server
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
    Why is this happening? Do I need to remove something else first to make it work? It used to work, but then I stupidly uninstalled it...

    Thanks,
    X96
    Alex Blackie, X96 Design
    My Website
    I specialize in: HTML5, CSS3, PHP, Ruby on Rails, MySQL, MongoDB, Linux Server Administration

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •