Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.02)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.02)

    1) Script Title: Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.02)

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...smoothmenu.htm

    3) Describe problem:
    First off, thank you to the people behind Dynamic Drive. A fantastic variety of great scripts!!
    The problem I'm having is with an error in Dreamweaver CS3 templates.
    I can successfully run the script on an independent HTML page but when I incorporate it with the template to build the rest of the site from I get an "Unbalanced #edit region tag"
    I can seem to figure out where the error is.
    It always appears on the line that has this URL:
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" lang="en" xml:lang="en">

    If anyone else has a similar problem or can help me out, I'd really appreciate it.
    thanks
    Peter

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,910
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 969 Times in 957 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    In general it doesn't matter what HTML editor you're using to create your pages, as long as the editor doesn't inadvertently modify any JavaScript code added inside the page. MS Frontpage does this for example, in which the solution is to insert the code using Frontpage's Insert "HTML Markup" option from the toolbar. I'm not sure if there's an equivalent in DreamWeaver, but I gather there should be.
    DD Admin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    thanks for the response my friend, I will give that a try and report back.
    once again, great script!
    thanks
    bd23

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hello again, I have all but abandoned trying to insert the menu into the template itself but have not tried putting the Menu contents in an external file and fetched using Ajax.
    The code seems right and I have followed the example on the menu page, even as far as duplicating all the variables, but the menu just doesn't load.
    I'm a noob but would appreciate a bit of guidance.

    thanks
    bd23

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Awesome! Trial and error is a wonderfully painful thing...

    I have solved the problem. I removed the offending line:
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" lang="en" xml:lang="en">

    fixed the directory paths to the root folder so the template page now displays the raw menu and the create HTML pages call the js from templates/

    And the menu now works beautifully.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,910
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 969 Times in 957 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    Persistence does pay off! Good to hear you finally got it working.
    DD Admin

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •