Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Need help with C Motion Gallery

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Need help with C Motion Gallery

    C Motion Gallery
    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...iongallery.htm

    Hello,
    I am trying to make this work on my site and I can not get the scrolling to work. I tried this first on a test index page here.

    http://www.frogsandfaeries.com/indexcopy1.htm

    As you can see I was able to put the gallery where I needed to but no luck scrolling. I added the 2 files gallerystyle.css and motiongallery.js to my sites main directory. Is there something I am overlooking? I do not have much experience in web design so thanks for your help.

    Sean

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,074
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Script conflict! Change this on your page:
    Code:
    <body bgcolor="#EFF4F4" text="#000000" onLoad="MM_preloadImages ... u/supportov.gif')">
    to:
    Code:
    <body bgcolor="#EFF4F4" text="#000000" onLoad="fillup();MM_preloadImages ... u/supportov.gif')">
    and remove this:
    Code:
    window.onload=fillup
    from the script (motiongallery.js).
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    John,

    That did the trick! I really appreciate your help. It now scrolls nicely.
    Thanks,

    Sean
    Last edited by vmax29; 08-13-2005 at 06:38 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    One other quick question as I work on this is there a limit to the size of the gallery?

    Sean

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,074
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Do you mean the number of pictures? If so, not in any practical manner. If you mean the size of the images, the larger they are, the worse they will look.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up

    Yes the number of pictures the gallery can hold.

    It seems ok with with a 220 pixel height setting on the motion container. It is easier this way because I won't need to resize my preloaded index pictures and I think this is keping the pictures clean. I also reset the background to match (having fun now) and it seems to be working ok so i'm going to try to stuff it with more photos. I was concerned if the load time was a factor if someone has a slower connection but to have the inventory on the fromt page to catch someones attention is great. Also is there a way to keep the borders uniform, I seem to be losing them as I add more photos. Here is the work in progress.

    http://www.frogsandfaeries.com/indexcopy1.htm

    A real hot steamy jungle day here in NJ so it is a good day to sit down and do this.
    Last edited by vmax29; 08-13-2005 at 10:54 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,074
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    I didn't notice any problem with the borders. You mention a good point, the number of images visa vis load time. That will be the same as loading pictures into the browser without the script except a little better since most of the images will initially be unseen while they load.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation

    I have also a scroll problem.

    I tested the code it in a blank page, there it works. But,
    If i put the code into another div it doesn't scroll.

    Please HELP. I dont know what to do to fix this problem.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,074
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    That could be so many things:

    PLEASE: Include the URL to your problematic webpage that you want help with.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation

    click here for the page where i am testing on

    I have no idea why it doesn't scroll when i past the code in another div...

    Code:
    <div id="pleft">
    <br><center>Glamour</center><br><br>
    
    <div id="motioncontainer" style="position:relative; width:294px; height:102px; overflow:hidden;">
    <div id="motiongallery" style="position:absolute; left:0; top:0; white-space: nowrap;">
    
    <nobr id="trueContainer">
    <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
    <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
    <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
    <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
    <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
    <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
    <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
    <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
    <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
    <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
    <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
    <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
    </nobr>
    
    </div>
    </div>
    </div>
    //EDIT:

    wait a second, it doesnt work with <body onLoad="MM_preloadImages('images/m.gif','images/m1.gif','images/mb.gif')">
    So the solution is to skip the onLoad on the page of the cmotion gallery?
    I'm gonna mis it..
    Last edited by Jeffb; 10-19-2005 at 02:09 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •