Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Apple Style Accordian Menu Bar

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Apple Style Accordian Menu Bar

    I am having a horrific time tyring to place the apple style accordian menu bar (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...menu-apple.htm) in my ASP web page!! Can you PLEASE PLEASE post the code for this in ASP? I have emailed ya'll twice!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,143
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Well, the menu is in JavaScript, so just like HTML, it doesn't matter whether your pages are ASP, PHP etc- simply add the code into your page and it should work. Or are you trying to dynamically output the contents of the menu using ASP and, say, MSSQL?
    DD Admin

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ddadmin For This Useful Post:

    usr3ahs (03-19-2009)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I have copied it into my site exactly and i get the the frame/base of the menu bar. but no active moving of the menu bar to reveal the hidden content. here is my site

    http://www.10-8dutygear.com/test.asp

    Also...If i have a tempelate. what is the best way to insert your menu bar on the left side of the screen. currently we are using one of your differnt menu bars. here is the site we currently have...http://www.10-8dutygear.com/?reloaded=true. I would like to just use the apple menu bar on the left. but cant get it to align. thanks. you guys rock!

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,143
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Both external files referenced by the script are missing on your page, for example:

    http://www.10-8dutygear.com/jquery-1.2.6.pack.js and
    http://www.10-8dutygear.com/ddaccordion.js

    Also...If i have a template. what is the best way to insert your menu bar on the left side of the screen. currently we are using one of your differnt menu bars. here is the site we currently have...http://www.10-8dutygear.com/?reloaded=true. I would like to just use the apple menu bar on the left. but cant get it to align.
    By align, do you mean you can't get it to appear in the desired location within your page? This sounds like a CSS issue.
    DD Admin

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    im really new to this so im learning as i go. What i want to do is take your menu bar and place to the left of our main box. i thought you would have to do "align left" tag? but im not sure how to place the code. any ideas?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Aight i got everything working...execpt that im having trouble placing it in my template? it is on the left hand side but i cant align it with my template? any ideas???

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,143
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Looking at your page's source, the menu's HTML is definitely out of place within the page. Currently it's added to the HEAD section of the page:
    Code:
    </head>
    
    <body>
    
    <div class="applemenu">
    <div class="silverheader"><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com">Dynamic Drive</a></div>
    	<div class="submenu">
    	Some random content here<br />
    	</div>
    <div class="silverheader"><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/" >CSS Examples</a></div>
    
    	<div class="submenu">
    	Some random content here<br />
    	</div>
    <div class="silverheader"><a href="http://www.javascriptkit.com">JavaScript Kit</a></div>
    	<div class="submenu">
    	Some random content here<br />
    	</div>
    <div class="silverheader"><a href="http://www.cssdrive.com">CSS Drive</a></div>
    
    	<div class="submenu">
    	Some random content here<br />
    	<img src="http://i27.tinypic.com/sy7295.gif" />
    	</div>
    <div class="silverheader"><a href="http://www.codingforums.com">Coding Forums</a></div>
    	<div class="submenu">
    	Some random content here<br />
    	</div>		
    
    </div
    
    </head>
    
    <body>
    
    	<body bgcolor="black" leftmargin="0" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" topmargin="0">
    		<div align="center">
    			<table width="950" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
    
    Rest of page contents...
    This is definitely incorrect. You need to add the menu's HTML physically within the page's source where you want it to appear. I reckon this has something to do with working with your templates system to get it to appear in the desired location.
    DD Admin

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •