Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: FireFox - Pop up IE Adware?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,168
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 628 Times in 624 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I've already uninstalled IE Tab add-on, how do I completely get rid of it? No, I have not tried starting firefox in safe mode, I will next time I need something to work cross browser. I don't really need an IE Previewer, although I got it b/c Snookerman suggested it to me.

    How do I get rid of this adware your talking about?

    I have not tried a system restore but I assume it's already to late for that. Doesn't a system restore restore the system with in the last weak? Or does it completely re-install vista?

    Trend Micro isn't working very well...
    Spysweeper Webroot I've uninstalled a while ago.
    Spybot and Adware run every day.
    Windows Defender runs automatically.
    Last edited by Nile; 01-29-2009 at 04:56 AM.
    Jeremy | jfein.net

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,168
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 628 Times in 624 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Trend Micro finds something that it classifies as spyware in the exception list. I'm guessing the adware added it self to the list? Whenever I remove it it pops right back up on the list.

    Info: http://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/gray...ADW%5FBHO%2EJZ

    Edit: I misunderstood this, this is on the exception list that will ALWAYS delete.


    Trend Micro says there are no spywares, or any security leaks on my machine.
    Last edited by Nile; 01-30-2009 at 05:07 AM.
    Jeremy | jfein.net

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,168
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 628 Times in 624 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Ok... Ready?

    Here's what I know:

    I've downloaded MsnPlus which appears to also include C2Media. I also had a Trojan Horse Generic on my machine. Which can slow down my computer, make ads, [etc]... I have SpyHunter3 installed now and running (after installing Avast and AVG [avg really helped, it found the trojan]) and its finding and cleaning up for me.

    Notice if you click the etc... above, and look to the right, its a danger level 10. Ouch.
    Jeremy | jfein.net

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    I was going to say, but looks like you are already on the case. AVG is very aggressive in going after these things and is constantly updated.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,168
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 628 Times in 624 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Turns out SpyHunter is fake... AVG helped me find the trojan. Now I'm testing to see if its gone.
    Jeremy | jfein.net

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,168
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 628 Times in 624 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Mod: Close thread.
    Jeremy | jfein.net

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •