Advanced Search

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35

Thread: div css questions

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Irmo, SC
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    ok last thing i promise..... it wsant doing this a second ago.

    http://outdoorsindoors.net/DEV/GPAW/...ods/calc/calc1

    in firefox all is fine... i havent got the form focus jscript to work yet... however in IE.. I am getting a yellow box over the email field. wtf?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,023
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 319 Times in 318 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    I looked at it in IE8, IE7 and IE6 and they all look just fine.
    Eddy Proca
    I love Dropbox. Get it through my girlfriend's referral link (I reached my limit) and both you and her get 500 MB extra! Thanks and you're welcome!

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Snookerman For This Useful Post:

    gpigate (01-06-2009)

  4. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Irmo, SC
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    yeah i found that my IE7 browser had google auto fill turned on. Once I turned it off the yellow went away.

    so i renamed the field from c1email to c1eml and turned it back on. no yellow box... WOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  5. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Irmo, SC
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    aight snooker.... lets complicate things.

    i have the top part working well. now for the magic.

    http://outdoorsindoors.net/DEV/GPAW/gpa_examp.jpg

    Take a look where it shows the semester stuff below the middle bar. Those will all be fields on a row.

    using css and div... is there any reason to cut those up into individual fields and place them... or could i have 1 image with all the fields on it... moving the text fields where I need to using the css.

    I will have a button down there allowing for more semester classes to be inserted. This will be stored in the db and then looped out for however many classes they have.

    whatcha think?

  6. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,023
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 319 Times in 318 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Are those going to be input fields as well? And by image do you mean the background image?
    Eddy Proca
    I love Dropbox. Get it through my girlfriend's referral link (I reached my limit) and both you and her get 500 MB extra! Thanks and you're welcome!

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Snookerman For This Useful Post:

    gpigate (01-06-2009)

  8. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Irmo, SC
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    yes they are going to be input fields and yeah i mean a background image like this one.



    that way I can just loop a div... showing the bg image.. then placing the values that were input and then saved as well as the calculated fields

    the calculated fields will not be input fields... just display.

  9. #27
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Irmo, SC
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    im sure there is a better way to do this... but this is what I am doing right now and it gives me the bars..

    Code:
    } #calc .cbody .classbar0{
    	position: absolute;
    	width: 780px;	
    	height: 27px;
    	top:190px;				
    	background: url(det_bar.jpg);
    } #calc .cbody .classbar1{
    	position: absolute;
    	width: 780px;	
    	height: 27px;
    	top:217px;				
    	background: url(det_bar.jpg);
    } #calc .cbody .classbar2{
    	position: absolute;
    	width: 780px;	
    	height: 27px;
    	top:244px;				
    	background: url(det_bar.jpg);
    } #calc .cbody .classbar3{
    	position: absolute;
    	width: 780px;	
    	height: 27px;
    	top:271px;				
    	background: url(det_bar.jpg);
    php for it
    
      <div id="cbody" class="cbody">
        <div id="calchead" class="calchead"></div>
        <div id="calcname" class="calcname"><input type="text" class="calcfield" name="c1name"></div>    
        <div id="calcemail" class="calcemail"><input type="text" class="calcfield" name="c1eml"></div>
        <img src="themes/CCS/calc_bar.jpg" class="bar"/>
        <img src="themes/CCS/class_bar.jpg" class="classtitle"/>  
        <?php for ($i=0;$i<3;$i++){ ?>  
        <div class="classbar<?php echo $i;?>"></div>
        <?php }?>
        <div id="calcstartgp" class="calcstartgp"><input type="text" class="calcfield" name="c1startgp"></div>
        <div id="calcstarttc" class="calcstarttc"><input type="text" class="calcfield" name="c1starttc"></div>
        <div id="calcstartqp" class="calcstartqp"><input type="text" class="calcfield" name="c1startqp"></div>                
        <div id="calcfoot" class="calcfoot"></div>    
      </div>
    so it loops through 3 times.... incrementing the style class by 1 each time and they are predefinied.

    i would much rather not have to add a numeric to the style and have them predefined but more rather have the class static and have their position relative to the one that was just displayed. does that make sense?

  10. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Irmo, SC
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    ok i thought i was doing good but then hit a snag.....

    Code:
    } #calc .cbody {
    	background: #d9e2ff;
    	margin: 5px 0px 0px 9px;
    	width: 780px;
    	height: 500px;
    	position: relative;
    } #calc .cbody .bar{
    	position: absolute;
    	top:140px;		
    } #calc .cbody .classtitle{
    	position: absolute;
    	top:150px;											  	
    } #calc .cbody .classbar0{
    	position: absolute;
    	width: 780px;	
    	height: 27px;
    	top:190px;				
    	background: url(det_bar.jpg);
    } #calc .cbody .classbar0 .cname{
    	color: #000000; 
    	margin:3px;
    	height:20px;
    	width:220px;
    	background: transparent no-repeat;	
    	border:none;
    	padding: 0px 0 0 35px;
    	font-size: 8pt; 
    	font-family: Tahoma, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;	
    } #calc .cbody .classbar0 .cgrade{
    	color: #000000; 
    	margin:3px;
    	height:20px;
    	width:190px;
    	background: transparent no-repeat;	
    	border:none;
    	padding: 0px 0 0 125px;
    	font-size: 8pt; 
    	font-family: Tahoma, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    } #calc .cbody .classbar0 .ccredit{
    	color: #000000; 
    	margin:3px;
    	height:20px;
    	width:190px;
    	background: transparent no-repeat;	
    	border:none;
    	padding: 0px 0 0 5px;
    	font-size: 8pt; 
    	font-family: Tahoma, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;	
    } #calc .cbody .classbar0 .cqpts{
    	color: #000000; 
    	margin:3px;
    	height:20px;
    	width:60px;
    	background: transparent no-repeat;	
    	border:dashed;
    	padding: 0 0 0 0;
    	font-size: 8pt; 
    	font-family: Tahoma, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;		
    
    <div id="calc">
      <div id="cbody" class="cbody">
        <div id="calchead" class="calchead"></div>
        <div id="calcname" class="calcname"><input type="text" class="calcfield" name="c1name"></div>    
        <div id="calcemail" class="calcemail"><input type="text" class="calcfield" name="c1eml"></div>
        <img src="themes/CCS/calc_bar.jpg" class="bar"/>
        <img src="themes/CCS/class_bar.jpg" class="classtitle"/>  
        <?php for ($i=0;$i<1;$i++){ ?>  
        <div class="classbar<?php echo $i;?>"><input type="text" name="classname" class="cname" value="name">
        									  <input type="text" name="cgrade" class="cgrade" value="grade">
                                              <input type="text" name="ccredit" class="ccredit" value="credit">
                                              <input type="text" name="qualpts" class="cqpts" value="quality">
                                              <input type="text" name="cgradepts" value="gpionts">
                                              <input type="text" name="cclasslevel" value="level">
                                              </div>
        <?php }?>
        <div id="calcstartgp" class="calcstartgp"><input type="text" class="calcfield" name="c1startgp"></div>
        <div id="calcstarttc" class="calcstarttc"><input type="text" class="calcfield" name="c1starttc"></div>
        <div id="calcstartqp" class="calcstartqp"><input type="text" class="calcfield" name="c1startqp"></div>                
        <div id="calcfoot" class="calcfoot"></div>    
      </div>
    </div>
    take a look at this link
    http://outdoorsindoors.net/DEV/GPAW/...ods/calc/calc1

    you can see that the name of the class, grade and credit points are all doing fine. I put the quality points with a dashed border to show what its doing. That is as far left as I can get it for some reason. probably something simple that I am missing....

    also on structure/approach. I would think there would be a better way to get those rows to position based on each other instead of having to give a row1, row2, row3... rowx class definition.

    thoughts?

  11. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,023
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 319 Times in 318 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    I forgot to mention this before, I would really recommend Wufoo for your form. It's really great, it will help you make awesome forms in no time. Take a look at this tutorial to see how powerful it is:
    http://css-tricks.com/video-screencasts/28-using-wufoo-for-web-forms/

    Good luck!
    Eddy Proca
    I love Dropbox. Get it through my girlfriend's referral link (I reached my limit) and both you and her get 500 MB extra! Thanks and you're welcome!

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Snookerman For This Useful Post:

    gpigate (01-06-2009)

  13. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Irmo, SC
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    checked out wufoo... very cool and maybe I will use it for some other things but it would not work here. I need to capture data from the form, store in the database, manipulate, calculate and display back to the user on this form.

    from what i understood about wufoo... it would store the information on their server and you have to log in to retrieve it.

    I understand I have been bugging you all day. if you are tired of looking at this just let me know.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •