Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Please test this website for me

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry Please test this website for me

    Hello,

    I have worked on this website for a while now, and it seems like it all works, I have tested it on browsershots.org and it looked like it worked fine.

    But it doesn't. The website is live, and my friend keeps on getting comments that the menu on top is missing and so they can't click it.

    It's inconsistent, sometimes it's FF, sometimes IE always on windows based machines though...

    Can you please take the time to test it in the browser(s) you use to help me figure out what's going on?

    Thanks so much for your time!

    http://website link

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Posts
    795
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 129 Times in 116 Posts

    Default

    I distinctly remember trying to help you with this site quite a while back.

    The problem is still now as it was then, you are using "margin-top:-300px" for your main container... This is resulting in the container being pushed up (and in some cases depending on screen resolution, out of the viewport)

    You should use this instead.

    Code:
    #frame {
    height:600px;
    left:50%;
    margin:0 0 0 -450px;
    position:absolute;
    top:4px;
    width:900px;
    }
    --------------------------------------------------
    Reviews, Interviews, Tutorials, and STUFF
    --------------------------------------------------
    Home of the SexyBookmarks WordPress plugin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    that's right!

    then I found an error in my css and hoped that fixed it and in my busy-ness this issue got pushed to the background...

    I just did what you said, and see no difference in my browsers, (which is a good thing) do you see any improvement?

    thanks for your time!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Posts
    795
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 129 Times in 116 Posts

    Default

    sorry, i suppose i worded my response wrong... it's not necessarily your "main" container... it's the div with the ID "frame" which you need to apply those styles i posted to.

    Code:
    #frame {
    height:600px;
    left:50%;
    margin:0 0 0 -450px;
    position:absolute;
    top:4px;
    width:900px;
    }
    As it is with the container you put the styling into, it is still off by a bit. I tested that set of styles using the <div id="frame"> rather than <div id="container">
    --------------------------------------------------
    Reviews, Interviews, Tutorials, and STUFF
    --------------------------------------------------
    Home of the SexyBookmarks WordPress plugin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    okay, so I adjusted in index.html which has the frame div in there and changed main.css back to its original settings...

    but now, it aligns at the top, my friend really wants it aligning in the middle (yeah and that's what got this all started)

    but is the menu now visible as it should?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I changed the container div layout to (in main.css) :

    #container {
    position: absolute;
    width: 900px;
    height: 600px;


    and changed the top margin to 50px for #frame so it gets off the top border a little.

    Is the menu fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Posts
    795
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 129 Times in 116 Posts

    Default

    yes, the menu is fixed... however, there is a section at the bottom which is being cut off now.

    Your friend needs to realize that the entire layout is far to large to be a "static layout" and be visible on all screen resolutions.

    If you want the menu AND the things at the bottom to be visible and have the layout centered vertically, you'll need to make the large image smaller and thus make the containing div smaller
    --------------------------------------------------
    Reviews, Interviews, Tutorials, and STUFF
    --------------------------------------------------
    Home of the SexyBookmarks WordPress plugin

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to TheJoshMan For This Useful Post:

    03SF06 (10-26-2008)

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    could you describe how much is being cut off? or post a screen shot?

    thanks so much for your help!

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Posts
    795
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 129 Times in 116 Posts

    Default

    here's what I see at 1280x800 resolution:


    --------------------------------------------------
    Reviews, Interviews, Tutorials, and STUFF
    --------------------------------------------------
    Home of the SexyBookmarks WordPress plugin

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Currently: New York/Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 519 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    One thing to keep in mind, 03SF06, is that Josh (Nyne Lyvez) has 76 toolbars in his normal viewing port. That shouldn't be the experience you want to optimize the site for. The fact is that you won't be able to design a website that displays optimally to everyone. You can only try to code for the most common use cases.

    I tested your website through our testing suite (a range of the most common browsers/configurations). If you were to move the site up approx 20 pixels, it would be work as desired for the 1024 x 768 resolutions and above. This assumes no more than 1 toolbar (say, bookmarks), the status bar, the Windows task bar shown (no auto-hide enabled) and a maximized browser window.

    If your attempt is to show it people with lower resolutions and/or viewports, do as Josh says and reduce the size of the image.

    On a different note, I suggest you download Firefox and the Web Developer toolbar. It'll allow you to resize the viewport to the most common configurations. I've actually tested using those system settings. But, if you don't have that ability, the web developer toolbar allows you to get a general idea of how the site will resize. It'll make your workflow much faster!

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Medyman For This Useful Post:

    03SF06 (10-27-2008)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •