Thread: pseudo-class help

Thanks
    Blog Entries

Arrow pseudo-class help

I have a table with three rows and I need to address the second row only. I cannot change the table in any way, I can only use css to address it. Does anyone know how I can use pseudo-classes (http://www.w3.org/TR/2001/CR-css3-se...ctural-pseudos) to address the second row only, or every other row would work as well since I only have three rows. The table roughly looks like this:
    Code:
    <table>
    <tbody>
    <tr>
    <td></td><!-- first row, I don't care weather it's addressed or not --->
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td></td><!-- second row, I want to address this one --->
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td></td><!-- third row, I don't want this one to be addressed --->
    </tr>
    </tbody>
    </table>
    I'm new to pseudo-classes and I've been trying it for a while but I can't get it to work. I test my results in FF3 and IE. Please help me, thanks!
    Last edited by Snookerman; 04-21-2009 at 06:56 AM. Reason: added "Resolved" prefix

Thanks
    Blog Entries

It would technically be table *:nth-child(0n+1), but support for nth-child is not good, specifically in IE.
    Last edited by Twey; 10-19-2008 at 05:54 AM. Reason: Oops, minor error...
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

Thanks
    Blog Entries

Thanks, but it still doesn't work. I tried it with most major browsers but none of them worked. I tried table:nth-child(0n+1), table:nth-child(2n+1), tbody:nth-child(0n+1), tbody:nth-child(2n+1), etc. I enjoyed your "beware of xhtml" article though.

Thanks

Code:
    table :nth-child(2) {
    	display:none;
    }