Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Featured Content Slider v2.4 doesn't work on IE6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Featured Content Slider v2.4 doesn't work on IE6

    1) Script Title: Featured Content Slider v2.4 FF1+ IE5+ Opr7+

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...tentslider.htm

    3) Describe problem: Hi,
    This script is installed on my main page and some users doesn't see the slider.
    I know that it affects only user under IE6.
    I tested on IE7, Firefox (mac/PC) and there is no PB.

    On the script description, it's written it's supposed to work on IE5+...

    Any idea?

    Kanana

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,140
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    The DD demos work fine for me in IE6. Is this something specific to your page? Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.
    DD Admin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    Thanks for your answer.

    My page is http://www.dundalkbulls.com on the top story part


    Kanana

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,140
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Did you switch to Ajax Tabs Content script instead? FYI your page works in IE6 for me.
    DD Admin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Well, I didn't change anything since then, and the issue appears on different PC having IE6...What should I change to your opinion?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,140
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Ok, I was confused, since looking at your page's source, the prominent code at the top points to "Ajax Tabs Content Script". Anyhow, I see Featured Content Slider now further down the source. Again though, in IE6, the Top Stories box works for me. It's possible you have a dated version of IE6 with a multimedia bug. To confirm this, try disabling the fade feature within FCS:

    Code:
    featuredcontentslider.init({
    	id: "slider1",  //id of main slider DIV
    	contentsource: ["inline", ""],  //Valid values: ["inline", ""] or ["ajax", "path_to_file"]
    	toc: "#increment",  //Valid values: "#increment", "markup", ["label1", "label2", etc]
    	nextprev: ["-", "-"],  //labels for "prev" and "next" links. Set to "" to hide.
    	revealtype: "click", //Behavior of pagination links to reveal the slides: "click" or "mouseover"
    	enablefade: [false, 0.2],  //[true/false, fadedegree]
    	autorotate: [true, 8000],  //[true/false, pausetime]
    	onChange: function(previndex, curindex){  //event handler fired whenever script changes slide
    		//previndex holds index of last slide viewed b4 current (1=1st slide, 2nd=2nd etc)
    		//curindex holds index of currently shown slide (1=1st slide, 2nd=2nd etc)
    	}
    })
    DD Admin

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to ddadmin For This Useful Post:

    Kanana (10-13-2008)

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for your answer.

    I tried to change what you advised me, but there is no difference unfortunately.

    I attached you a screenshot if that can help you.

    Thanks again

    Kanana
    Last edited by Kanana; 10-13-2008 at 07:39 PM.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,140
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Hmm do you have more details on the copies of the IE6 browsers that you say don't work? Since your page works for me in IE6, it's hard to debug. Disabling the fade feature should account for the problematic IE6 browsers that I was aware of. Since it doesn't, another possibily is that another script on your page (ie: The Ajax Tabs Content script) is the one throwing an error, hence stopping the rest of the scripts from working in IE6 for you somehow. To verify this, start with a clean blank page with just the Featured Content Slider in it and fade disabled, and see if that works.
    DD Admin

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to ddadmin For This Useful Post:

    Kanana (10-15-2008)

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks again for your answer

    IE 6 version is 6.0.2900.2180xpsp_sp2_gdr070227-2254
    On my PC and on another one that has the issue.

    I made a clean page with the slider (false) at : www.dundalkbulls.com/slider_test.php but , on my side it appear blank.
    I attached a screen shot of what I see.

    Thx

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •