Advanced Search

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: site all messed up in IE6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default site all messed up in IE6

    Hi all,

    I looked at a site i'm redesigning on a friends laptop today, that has IE6...

    and was fairly shocked to see that the main page was very bad, it seemd to completely remove my "right column"...

    unfortunetely i didnt have time to have a good look at it, and i have IE7 & firefox myself, is there anyway i can download IE6 and have that and IE7 running on the same pc?

    i use the css templates provided by dynamic drive, has anyone else come across these not working well in IE6? or is it more to do with code that i have added to it?

    If you want to actually see what i mean, the website can be seen at www.selfcctv.co.uk

    Any advice welcome

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    no advice here? or have i been too vague?

    please help

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Unfortunately once you upgrade to Ie7, you can't have Ie6 running on your computer anymore. I just looked at your site in FF and Ie6. The best way to fix your issues would be to build it first while testing in Ie6, but you're obviously way past that stage. So the fastest way for you to fix your issues would be to create Conditional Comments. Some call them CSS hacks.

    Place this snippet of code in the head of you document:

    <!--[if lte IE 6]>
    Special instructions for IE 6 here
    <![endif]-->

    Then create your referenced style sheet to fix all Ie6 bugs. Of course you'll need a different computer with Ie6 to test.

    Hope this helps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Posts
    795
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 130 Times in 117 Posts

    Default

    not necessarily.

    You can download an installer which will install IE 6 as a "standalone".

    just google the term "Multiple IEs"
    --------------------------------------------------
    Reviews, Interviews, Tutorials, and STUFF
    --------------------------------------------------
    Home of the SexyBookmarks WordPress plugin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Ahhhhh, very nice.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi penguin

    so could i create a totally new style sheet for IE6 say, and call it style6.css

    then put
    <!--[if lte IE 6]>
    <link href="style6.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"/>
    <![endif]-->

    in the head section?

    thanks for the advice all

    this might be helpful for others, i just downloaded multiple IEs from :

    http://tredosoft.com/Multiple_IE

    and IE 6 seems to be working a treat there...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ft. Smith, AR
    Posts
    795
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 130 Times in 117 Posts

    Default

    the conditional statement can be used to call an entirely separate stylesheet... however, this is bad practice.

    The preferred method is to simply find which elements are causing you greif in IE 6, then write declarations inside the conditional statement to fix them.

    There is usually not a real need to use a completely separate stylesheet.
    --------------------------------------------------
    Reviews, Interviews, Tutorials, and STUFF
    --------------------------------------------------
    Home of the SexyBookmarks WordPress plugin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Currently: New York/Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 519 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nyne Lyvez View Post
    the conditional statement can be used to call an entirely separate stylesheet... however, this is bad practice.

    The preferred method is to simply find which elements are causing you greif in IE 6, then write declarations inside the conditional statement to fix them.

    There is usually not a real need to use a completely separate stylesheet.
    It's bad practice if you're serving both stylesheets -- the default and an IE6 specific one.

    On a recent project, the client wasn't interested in supporting IE6 (i love this client). But, we (my creative team) decided that it was still a good idea to do some minimal styling for IE6. This particular project really requires high level of CSS support, as well as some DOM techniques that aren't feasible in IE6. So, what we do is serve an IE6 specific stylesheet, but only that!

    In other words, we're not resetting previously set styles for the benefit of an IE6 audience. Instead, we're serving only an IE6 stylesheet.

    Simon Clayson recently blogged about the technique that we use.

    Of course, if you're only changing some margins and/or padding, it makes little sense to server an entirely different stylesheet.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    hi again guys

    Can you tell me how i put declarations inside conditional statements?

    i put this on my site initially :

    <!--[if lte IE 6]>
    <link href="style6.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"/>
    <![endif]-->

    and it fixed my site in IE6, the only changes i made to the style sheet from the normal one, was to float a coloumn to the right instead of left, but after reading Nyne lyvez post about bad practise, i tried simply putting :

    <!--[if lte IE 6]>
    #rightcolumn {float:right;}
    <![endif]-->

    but this didnt fix anything... what have i done wrong here?

    is it as simple as adding <style type="text/css"> #rightcolumn {float:right;} </style> ?

    thanks
    James

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Currently: New York/Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 519 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by isntworkdull View Post
    hi again guys

    Can you tell me how i put declarations inside conditional statements?

    i put this on my site initially :

    <!--[if lte IE 6]>
    <link href="style6.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"/>
    <![endif]-->

    and it fixed my site in IE6, the only changes i made to the style sheet from the normal one, was to float a coloumn to the right instead of left, but after reading Nyne lyvez post about bad practise, i tried simply putting :

    <!--[if lte IE 6]>
    #rightcolumn {float:right;}
    <![endif]-->

    but this didnt fix anything... what have i done wrong here?

    is it as simple as adding <style type="text/css"> #rightcolumn {float:right;} </style> ?

    thanks
    James
    What Josh (Nyne Lyvez) was referring to as bad practice was to redeclare ALL of your styles in an IE6 specific stylesheet. What you were doing is completely fine.

    As to your question, yes the solution you describe is the way to do it.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •