Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: addition to conveyor belt slide show

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default addition to conveyor belt slide show

    I would like to use the conveyor belt image slideshow (code available on this site), but wanted to add another feature. In addition to stopping the slideshow on mouseover, I would like to add a small pop-up window to display some info about the item. Unfortunately, I cannot write javascript. Anyone interested in looking at the code to let me know if it could be done? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread for the proper posting format when asking a question.


    And, if you've already tried to do this yourself and are just having problems:

    Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.


    In any case, I'm pretty sure it can be done. However, pop up windows aren't generally the way to go, and a true pop up window cannot be done onmouseover, though a pseudo pop up based on a hidden division can. But simply using the title attribute may be sufficient. Like where you have an image in the conveyor:

    Code:
    leftrightslide[0]='<a href="http://"><img title="Info About This Image" src="dynamicbook1.gif" border=1></a>'
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Here is a link to a page with the slide show. It's the same script as is on the Dynamic Drive for the Conveyor belt slide show -- just customized with our images and colors.

    http://my.rlicorp.com/portfolio/slideshow.asp

    As I said, I can't write javascript, but I also found the following code for a pop-up window. (We will be using this function internally, so I'm not that worried about using a pop-up window.) When I used this code as is in place of the existing <a href> code, then nothing will display on the page.

    <a href="info1.htm" target="name" onclick="window.open('info1.htm','name','height=420, width=315,toolbar=no,directories=no,status=no, menubar=no,scrollbars=no,resizable=no'); return false;">

    I was trying the above code because I want to display a more information than would be feasible just using the title function.

    Thanks for any help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    I thought you wanted the pop up onmouseover, I realize now that I was probably wrong about that. Your code could work if it were to be escaped properly (strings within strings must have their like delimiters escaped), and by the way, once you start specifying characteristics for window.open(), anything not specified is assumed to be no, so this would work (with the proviso that many browsers will not allow the elimination of all of the things you have set to no, regardless of whether they are specified or assumed to be no):

    Code:
    leftrightslide[0]='<a href="info1.htm" target="name" onclick="window.open(\'info1.htm\',\'name\',\'height=420, width=315\'); return false;"><img src="whatever.jpg" border=1 alt=""></a>'
    I'm still not wild about a pop up though. However, if you are willing to have it activated onclick, it is at least possible.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to jscheuer1 For This Useful Post:

    designer-sue (09-18-2008)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    John -- Thanks, this works! FYI -- I work in our company's communications dept and we are using this as on-line portfolio to be posted on our company intranet, so the use of the pop-up activated onclick is perfect for the info we are displaying. Thanks for taking the effort to assist me.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •