Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Problem w/ Server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    589
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 54 Times in 54 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Problem w/ Server

    I downloaded a server called VMware Server. After I installed it, I tried to tamper w/ some PHP code in Notepad. I saved it as .html, but the problem was that the PHP didn't show up. I tried downloading other servers like APACHE and XAMPP. - Those won't work.

    Any suggestions?

    -magicyte

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    199
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 58 Times in 57 Posts

    Default

    Save as .php?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    589
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 54 Times in 54 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Tried that. When I try to open the PHP file, it just opens my code in Notepad, not the actual version in IE.

    -magicyte

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Did you put <?php and ?> between your PHP code?
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,876
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    You have some pretty fundamental misunderstandings going on here.

    VMWare Server is not a webserver application.

    If you don't access your files *through* your webserver, they will not be executed.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franais | entiendo espaol | ti t hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    543
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 78 Times in 78 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    as twey said you must view this file through the server to be parsed. usually with web servers there is a www folder where you would place folders and files to be parsed and displayed through the server. you can access these files through the server by going to http://localhost/ in your browser.
    [Jasme Library (Javascript Motion Effects)] My Site
    /\/\@ /\/\@|{
    There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those that understand binary and those that don't.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    589
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 54 Times in 54 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tech_support
    Did you put <?php and ?> between your PHP code?
    Yeah. I am not THAT much of a novice w/ PHP. No offense.

    Quote Originally Posted by Twey
    You have some pretty fundamental misunderstandings going on here.

    VMWare Server is not a webserver application.

    If you don't access your files *through* your webserver, they will not be executed.
    What do you mean by *through* your webserver? IMPORTANT!! -> BTW - I downloaded WAMP - FINALLY <- IMPORTANT!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Master_script_maker
    If you don't access your files *through* your webserver, they will not be executed.
    Sorry, but like I said w/ Twey - Could you please explain?

    I appreciate your help w/ my problem with the WAMP server. I hope that patience is at hand .

    -magicyte

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cebu City Philippines
    Posts
    1,160
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 277 Times in 275 Posts

    Default

    It's confusing. It seems you downloaded two cross-browser platform server, anyway, you might find these suggestions useful:

    • If you are using XAMPP, ensure to save your files on c:\program files\xampp\htdocs\file.php, and when you access it, should be http://localhost/file.php
    • If you are using WAMPP, ensure to save your files on c:\program files\wamp\www\file.php, and when you access it, should be http://localhost/file.php


    Hope that makes sense.
    Learn how to code at 02geek

    The more you learn, the more you'll realize there's much more to learn
    Ray.ph!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    589
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 54 Times in 54 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanx. I'll try it!!

    -magicyte

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    589
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 54 Times in 54 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Holy freak!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yippee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    I am so happy right now!! I opened it up, and guess what!!

    I coded this:

    Code:
    <?php
    
    echo "wow";
    
    ?>
    and I saw this:

    wow

    I am so excited!! Thank you all so much!!!

    Now all I need to do is learn PHP. Great. :P

    Any suggestions on where to learn?

    -magicyte

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •