Thread: Unnecessary PHP? Alternatives?

Thanks

Default Unnecessary PHP? Alternatives?

Hey all. Here's the question:

I've got a client who wants this: A page with links about different breeds of dogs. You click on the breed name, and it lets you view a 'statistics' page, which has photos, facts, etc. She suggested PHP to do this, but I think PHP might be unnecessary; I get the feeling there might be a quicker-to-integrate solution. I'm no PHP pro, and I've been wanting to learn PHP for a bit now, but this project is has a time frame I don't think I should be learning on her dime.

That being said, if PHP would provide the simplest solution, and someone could provide link to a tutorial, that would be great. I'm open to any other ideas for a cool way to do this other than the obvious: straight up HTML.

What would you guys do? Thanks...

Thanks

It really depends on the workflow.

What you could PHP for would be to have a database-driven website. So, the client could input a new breed, change images, facts, etc... at will.

You could certainly hand code all the pages and link them up manually. If there is no need for dynamic content, or you want to be informed every time a new page is to be added then static HTML pages would be easier and 100% the way to go.

Bascially, if you need a CMS (and don't want to use a commercial or open source solution), learn PHP. Otherwise, I don't see how PHP is applicable in the site you're working on.

Thanks

In general, realize that PHP [only] generates HTML. [That is, it doesn't make special html-- it just automates the process of writing it somewhat.]*
    If you think it would be beneficial (that is, in the ways medyman listed) to have PHP generate content or templating, then use it.

PHP is almost always harder to setup (especially if you aren't used to it), but also always easier to maintain (assuming it is setup well), and also very expandable.