Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: stack overflow in ie, but not firefox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default stack overflow in ie, but not firefox

    heres the page:
    www.megapixeldi.com

    in IE i get an error telling me that theres a stack overflow error in line 105 - which happens to be the browser compatibility test.

    i'm using the anylink dropdown menu found here on Dynamic drive (thanks guys!) as well as the lightbox image viewer (also found here).
    i cannot use the dropdown menu in IE, as it stops with the overflow error. it seems to work in firefox, although quite sluggish... and then doesn't go away when mouse in not over it anymore.

    the dropdown is located on the "products" menu.

    I have searched around online for ages trying to figure it out. all i can gather is that there isn't anything specific to that error. sometimes its a recursive call, or too much javascript or something else altogether.

    i do not know enough about javascript to feel like i'm able to find the error.

    any help? any thoughts? should i clean it up by putting it all into an externally referenced javascript file?

    any help would be the bomb!
    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    I'm not seeing any of this (works fine in FF 2, IE 6 and 7 here). What version(s) of IE, and what version of FF, and what OS are you using?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jscheuer1 For This Useful Post:

    eyezac (07-08-2008)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,140
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread for the proper posting format when asking a question.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Hi eyezac,
    It might not make a difference to your error, but you have functions defined twice in your javascript:

    PRELOAD SCRIPT (dropdownMenu.psd)
    function newImage(arg)
    function changeImages()
    function preloadImages()

    and the two preloadImages functions are different.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Ictinus For This Useful Post:

    eyezac (07-08-2008)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Sorry,

    Anylink dropdown menu
    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...pmenuindex.htm

    and

    Lightbox image viewer
    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...tbox/index.htm

    Quote Originally Posted by jscheuer1 View Post
    I'm not seeing any of this (works fine in FF 2, IE 6 and 7 here). What version(s) of IE, and what version of FF, and what OS are you using?
    OK, using OS XP Pro, firefox 3, IE 7.0 (on the three machines we tried). We are using a Small Business Server also running xp pro.

    apparently it works fine in Vista according to my boss.

    Ictinus -
    hmm thanks for finding that!... i'll have a look at that and find out whats up.

    does it error for anyone?

    thanks

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ictinus View Post
    Hi eyezac,
    It might not make a difference to your error, but you have functions defined twice in your javascript:

    PRELOAD SCRIPT (dropdownMenu.psd)
    function newImage(arg)
    function changeImages()
    function preloadImages()

    and the two preloadImages functions are different.
    I had a look over the code again.. i cant find the double up - what lines were they in if you dont mind...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •