Advanced Search

Thread: Need Font text alternative .gif .jpg ?

Thanks

Default Need Font text alternative .gif .jpg ?

I have created a .gif or .jpg in photoshop that only contains the type font I want to use. However when I test it online the words are not displayed cleanly. I see other sites with special fonts in these graphic forms. What save options should I use?
    Hopefully,

Thanks

Do you have an example of the image? What exactly isn't working about it? There should be any difference in image quality locally versus on the web.

Thanks

I will have to put up the test text. I will need 15 min to do this. I will have 1. html text first. 2 .jpg text (the .gif looked the same as the .jpg).
    I will return here with the site link when ready.
    Note: I am an old photographer, now enthralled with the internet. I was a COBOL programmer in the '60s

Thanks

Roger,

It's best if you either post your link here and/or upload the image in question. There are others who know a whole deal more about image compression etc... than I do.

What settings are you outputting the .jpg with? The premise of what you're trying to do isn't flawed. So, that leads me to believe that you probably "Saved for the Web" using some low quality setting.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Medyman For This Useful Post:

rjsphoto (06-05-2008)

Thanks

Ok The Photoshop image create setting:
    Image Size 6.5x2.0 resolution 150 x Scale Styles x Constrain Proporties
    x Resample Image = Bicubic
    jpg save options: Image Options Quality = 10 (maximum range)
    Format Options x Baseline (standard) size @56.6 Kbps
    The image looks good in Photoshop but looks crummy in the site. Especially with the text version also shown. We really want to use the font (Zapfino Linotype One) it suits the site well. I am aware of the well documented problem of using a font not commonly found on computers. That is why I want to use a jpg or gif. Link to site: