Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Problem with script showing in IE7

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy Problem with script showing in IE7

    1) Script Title: Conveyor Belt slideshow script

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...rightslide.htm

    3) Describe problem: Wheras this script works fine in FireFox it does NOT work in IE7

    I have used it on the page: http://knowle-village.org/index.html and it displays fine in the top right corner within FF but just produces an "Error on Page" within IE

    Have I done something really stupid or what?

    Can you help please?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Your page is in violation of Dynamic Drive's usage terms, which, among other things, state that the script credit must appear in the source code of the page(s) using the script. Please reinstate the notice first.


    Here:

    Code:
    leftrightslide[0]='<a href="http://www.knowle-village.org/Comment.html"><img src="vote_now.png" border=0></a>'
    
    leftrightslide[1]='<img src="Chapel_1.jpg" '
    leftrightslide[2]='<a href="http://www.knowle-village.org/Advertising.html"><img src="advertise_here.png" border=0></a>'
    
    leftrightslide[3]='<img src="IMG_0495.jpg" '
    leftrightslide[4]='<a href="http://www.knowle-village.org/Comment.html"><img src="vote_now.png" border=0></a>'
    leftrightslide[5]='<img src="images bell tower.jpg" '
    leftrightslide[6]='<a href="http://www.knowle-village.org/Advertising.html"><img src="advertise_here.png" border=0></a>'
    leftrightslide[7]='<img src="images new house.jpg" '
    leftrightslide[8]='<a href="http://www.knowle-village.org/Advertising.html"><img src="advertise_here.png" border=0></a>'
    
    leftrightslide[9]='<img src="IMG_1789.jpg" '
    you have a number of entries which aren't valid tags. FF must be error correcting this for you, perhaps IE isn't. Fix them all up, like for example:

    Code:
    leftrightslide[1]='<img src="Chapel_1.jpg">'
    That may well take care of the problem. But there could also be other issues.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank You

    Have re-instated text etc.

    It works fine - thank you

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi gurus.
    Similar problem.

    I got the annoying IE7 Warning "Done, but with errors on page".

    This tool is really cool and wish to have it done properly.
    Check it out here www.thehomedecor.net/

    Also is there possible to add alt="" or title="" for the images? I tried with no success.

    Advanced thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cebu City Philippines
    Posts
    1,160
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 277 Times in 275 Posts

    Default

    It's caused by this part in your markup:
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">
    	document.onload = runSlideShow();
    </script>
    You don't have runSlideShow function (yet). Try to comment that part if it has no function (yet).

    You can have alt and title attributes by adding the highglighted in the code:
    Code:
    //Specify the slider's images
    var leftrightslide=new Array()
    var finalslide=''
    leftrightslide[0]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook1.gif" border=1 alt="myimage" title="myimage"></a>'
    leftrightslide[1]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook2.gif" border=1 alt="myimage" title="myimage"></a>'
    leftrightslide[2]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook3.gif" border=1 alt="myimage" title="myimage"></a>'
    leftrightslide[3]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook4.gif" border=1 alt="myimage" title="myimage"></a>'
    leftrightslide[4]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook5.gif" border=1 alt="myimage" title="myimage"></a>'
    Hope it helps.
    Learn how to code at 02geek

    The more you learn, the more you'll realize there's much more to learn
    Ray.ph!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rangana View Post
    It's caused by this part in your markup:
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" language="javascript">
    	document.onload = runSlideShow();
    </script>
    You don't have runSlideShow function (yet).
    In fact, that will never work, regardless of where the function is defined, as it is improper syntax. Best to just remove the entire thing.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you so much rangana and John! The warning disappeared by removing the extra thing.


    Now, the alt works but displaying the first word only. I need to have a phrase in the alt of 2-3 keywords in it.

    Thanks for the prompt response!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Ok the alt is also fine by adding the quotations.

    really appreciate you help guys.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi guys, again I need your help.

    We did some revisions on the main code for our site. Consequently the dynamic Drive script if affected by showing the first image on all slides, although different images are clearly specified.

    Take a look at www.thehomedecor.net, scroll down in the source page.


    ps, maybe this kind of problem is not related to this topic, but couldnt find meanwhile.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    589
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 54 Times in 54 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Not so sure 'bout this one, but I think that you must place semi-colons ( ; ) after each statement. Ex.

    This is what you have:

    slideshowspeed=12

    Its proper syntax would be:

    slideshowspeed=12;

    Just saying that you SHOULD be putting semi-colons on the end of all of those statements, save the if,else if,else,do,while statements - or the function declarations, either.

    -magicyte

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •