Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ajax Tabs Content Script (v 2.0)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Ajax Tabs Content Script (v 2.0)

    hi;

    i have been using Demo #3- All contents fetched via "IFRAME" , but when I click on the tab and it loads the content , I do no see the loading.gif image .

    my var in ajaxtabs.js looks like :

    var ddajaxtabssettings={}
    ddajaxtabssettings.bustcachevar=1 //bust potential caching of external pages after initial request? (1=yes, 0=no)
    ddajaxtabssettings.loadstatustext="<img src='ajaxtabs/loading.gif' /> Requesting content..."

    Any help would be appreciated.

    tks...

    Last edited by ddadmin; 11-12-2007 at 09:26 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,143
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    The "loading" message only appears when a content is fetched via Ajax, and not IFRAME. With the later, all the script is doing is loading a page into it, similar to a browser loading a new page into a new window.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    thanks ddadmin;

    how can I do a content is fetched via Ajax, but with using using Demo #3 theme ?

    thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,143
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    You're not tied down to any theme when specifying whether the tab contents are fetched via Ajax or IFRAME. This is all explained on the script page already actually. So to modify the HTML of theme #3 to fetch its contents via Ajax, you would do something like:

    Code:
    <div id="pettabs" class="indentmenu">
    <ul>
    <li><a href="external1.htm" rel="#somecontainer" class="selected">Tab 1</a></li>
    <li><a href="external2.htm" rel="#somecontainer">Tab 2</a></li>
    <li><a href="external3.htm" rel="#somecontainer">Tab 3</a></li>
    <li><a href="external4.htm" rel="#somecontainer">Tab 4</a></li>
    </ul>
    <br style="clear: left" />
    </div>
    Where "somecontainer" is the ID of the DIV that will house the Ajax fetched content.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Smile

    thanks so much ddadmin;

    it worked and was simple.

    I also need help with the background image that goes in the tabs. how I can put an image in the tabs that has a w 100 and h of 30. I have 2 sets of images , one for on and one for off state.


    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,143
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffsalam View Post
    I also need help with the background image that goes in the tabs. how I can put an image in the tabs that has a w 100 and h of 30. I have 2 sets of images , one for on and one for off state.

    thanks
    This is more of a CSS question then. It really depends on what you have in mind for the tabs' look. If you're styling the tab's background image (for both the "over" and "out" states), try playing around with a CSS menu that uses this technique, for example, this one. Otherwise, if your tabs themselves are created using images (not their background image), then you're using dealing with rollover graphic buttons.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default html special characters

    thanks so much ddadmin for you help !

    now that i got the script working , when the script calls an external page via ajax, some of the charecters ( like or ) look funny on the screen . the content of the external l file comes from database.

    appreciate you help.

    thaanks..

    jeff

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by ddadmin View Post
    The "loading" message only appears when a content is fetched via Ajax, and not IFRAME. With the later, all the script is doing is loading a page into it, similar to a browser loading a new page into a new window.
    Is there a way to have the same loading message display in iframe (just like with Ajax), while the external page is loading?
    Help much appreciated.

    Cheers,

    Davor

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,143
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Davorelli, in the future, please start a new thread when asking your own question on a DD script. To your question, this has been answered before, basically no unfortunately: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/s...d.php?p=139733

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks ddadmin.
    Sorry about cutting in, but I thought that I would be easier for you figure out what I'm asking if I just continue on an existing thread/topic.

    Cheers,

    Davor

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •