Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: How would I download a .exe file ???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default How would I download a .exe file ???

    Hi to all...

    I would like to put a .exe file on my web site and allow to download...

    How would i do this...

    Thanking you in advance...


    Rino

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. George, UT
    Posts
    2,769
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 157 Times in 155 Posts

    Default

    upload your file to the server, then place a link pointing to it. The browser will usually download right off the bat.

    Hope this helps.
    "Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." - Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989
    TheUnlimitedHost | The Testing Site | Southern Utah Web Hosting and Design

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I'll give it a try...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I tried it and i get "The page cannot be found"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. George, UT
    Posts
    2,769
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 157 Times in 155 Posts

    Default

    That means that you didn't upload the file to the location you pointed to in the browser. In other words, if you make your link mysite.com/test.exe but upload to the folder /test/test.exe, then you will get a 404 (page not found) error.

    Hope this helps.
    "Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." - Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989
    TheUnlimitedHost | The Testing Site | Southern Utah Web Hosting and Design

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    i double checked and the path is correct...
    if you have two mins to check here's the site...
    http://www.hartstores.com/Hart/SignC...itureSigns.asp

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. George, UT
    Posts
    2,769
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 157 Times in 155 Posts

    Default

    I can't find it, and the server apparently can't find the file either. Without access to the server, the only thing I can suggest is making sure that the files are in fact there on the server.

    Hope this helps.
    "Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." - Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989
    TheUnlimitedHost | The Testing Site | Southern Utah Web Hosting and Design

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,162
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    1. Upload file.
    2. Write down the path to the file.
    3. Use as link.

    If that link does not work either:
    1. The path is NOT to that file.
    2. The file is no longer there.

    As thetestingsite said, we cannot do anything more.

    Also, since you are just linking to a file, there is nothing I can imagine that would be going wrong in terms of configuration, settings, etc.


    I notice that your URLs contain spaces (and some have other characters). Consider conventions like using underscores (_) instead of spaces and using all lowercase letters, with no punctuation characters. This can cause problems, though I can't find the file even trying a few things to fix this, so I'm not convinced that is, in this case, the problem.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| español | Deutsch | italiano | português | català | un peu de français | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cebu City Philippines
    Posts
    1,160
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 277 Times in 275 Posts

    Default

    With all their suggestion, the issue maybe is that your link is the err

    Code:
    <A HREF="/Hart/SignCards/Images/Furniture Sign Cards/Furniture08FR_3x5 (Page 01).pdf"><img border="0" height="32" width="33"SRC="/Images/pdf.gif"></A>
    ...and also, as what Daniel had suggested, try renaming your file, avoid using spaces
    Learn how to code at 02geek

    The more you learn, the more you'll realize there's much more to learn
    Ray.ph!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cool

    Following along with Daniel and testingsite mentioning either removing the spaces or replacing with underscores, there are a couple other parameters to look for as well:

    Are you uploading by the website or by FTP?

    If by your website, you will want to look into the folder structures and see exactly how deep this .EXE is placed:

    (ie; test/test.exe or test/test2/test3/test.exe).
    -------------------------------------------------------
    If this if by FTP, when you initially login (unless you have changed the starting directory), the default folder listed as "/" would have you placed at the equivalent: http://www.yourwebsite.com

    Any folders you access from here will be added to the end of this URL:
    (ie; http://www.yourwebsite.com/test/test2/test.exe)
    --------------------------------------------------------

    Hope this along with other postings help alleviate your problem.

    -=Striker=-

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •