Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: troubles using www.echoecho.com Floating Layer Menu & DD Cursor Trailer Text

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default troubles using www.echoecho.com Floating Layer Menu & DD Cursor Trailer Text

    I hope you can help, I am having troubles using www.echoecho.com Floating Menu & DD Cursor Trailer Text.

    Floating Layer (Menu)-
    http://www.echoecho.com/toolfloatinglayer.htm
    Curso Trailer Text -http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex13/trailortext.htm

    I would love to use both of these on my web site, but all I get is script error, when I use both of them on the same page.

    I would use the DD Floating Menu, I am sure they would work well together. The problem is I need the Menu on the right side and like the abillity to change the delay and the position of the menu.

    I know nothing about script. Could you telling why I am having problem using both or telling what I can do to make them work together.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    I just tried this, putting both scripts on the same page and it worked fine in IE. The problem is that the cursor trailer script is not Mozilla compatible. That means it doesn't work in NS7.2 or Firefox and probably several other browsers. I modded a version up awhile back that does, use that instead. Attached as ctrailer.zip
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 06-03-2005 at 06:42 PM.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cool

    I use IE, maybe I am doing something wrong. As I said I can use one or the other, but not both. I keep getting an script error. Maybe it is my web editor. I will try and use both again, but not view the page in the editor.

    thanks
    Sherback

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question

    Below is a copy a web page. I tried the new script, and this time, the only thing the loads is the scoll color change.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    You've allowed comments to hide important information from the browser. Right here:
    Code:
    </script>
    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
    <!--
    floatX=0
    floatY=0
    That little <!-- looks innocent enough but it tells the browser that all that follows is a comment. This would be fine if the comment was closed before the ending script tag but, it isn't. So, since these little tricks aren't really needed, just remove it so that it looks like this:
    Code:
    </script>
    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
    floatX=0
    floatY=0
    I did and your page worked fine.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up Thanks

    Thank you so much I know I had to be missing something.

    I will do just that, and thanks again.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •