Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Drop Down Tabs Menu - Oddity

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Drop Down Tabs Menu - Oddity

    Is there a way to ensure that the menus in the Drop Down Tabs will always open DOWN? I'm having an issue where the menus will sometimes open UPWRDS if they are clicked in the middle of the page (after scrolling down a bit, but nowhere near the very bottom of the page) rather than the top. My temporary solution was to squeeze the line-height and font sizes down so that the drop down menu is never too long to need to open upwards. This also limits how many items I can enter into the menu; too many and the menu will open upwards. This happens in both IE7 & FF.

    Any thoughts? TIA!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Currently: New York/Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 519 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    Please post some code or better yet, a sample page showing the problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I've increased the font size to 12px and the line-height to 15px. Two of the 3 drop down menus now open Upwards, for some reason only in FF. If I add any more links to those menus, it will occur in IE also. I even went as far as to reduce the size of the header image (less space to top of window) in order to keep it from occuring.
    http://bloggerny.blogspot.com/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,140
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread for the proper posting format when asking a question.

    You should be able to completely disable the script from dropping up when it feels it needs to, by removing the below code in inside the .js file:

    Code:
    			if (windowedge-this.dropmenuobj.y < this.dropmenuobj.contentmeasure){ //move up?
    				edgeoffset=this.dropmenuobj.contentmeasure+obj.offsetHeight
    				if ((this.dropmenuobj.y-topedge)<this.dropmenuobj.contentmeasure) //up no good either?
    					edgeoffset=this.dropmenuobj.y+obj.offsetHeight-topedge
    			}

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to ddadmin For This Useful Post:

    pyrexia (03-11-2008)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Worked like a charm, thanks!

    Sorry I didn't post the script name immediately, I was assuming you could just read my mind as to which one I was referring to.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •