Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Site doesn't Work properly in IE6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Site doesn't Work properly in IE6

    Hello,

    I'm working on this site http://www.party-crew.info/html

    and if you look at the home page (the one after clicking the lightbox and the welcome screen), you will see that IE6 is making a mess of it.

    Can someone have a look at my code, IE7 and FF are working great...

    The sites uses:
    Lightbox 2.0 at the welcome screen
    PNG Fix only at welcome screen and home.php yet, I'll do the rest when the code is IE6 compatible.
    Active Content Fix

    The menu has become a table, because of the spacing between the menu items when opened in IE6/7. FF was displaying the site normally, but IE put a space of 1px between the buttons, therefor I've used a table instead.

    thanks already!
    (can someone look at my grammar as well? :P I'm dutch )

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ankara, Turkey
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Have you tried using Dean Edwards' IE8.js which can be found at http://code.google.com/p/ie7-js/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    damn, the solution was very easy!

    Some of the menu items were 237px wide.. and other were 238px.. that 1px made the difference. Setting the menu table to 237px, and also the width of the menu-images solved the problem.

    But there is 1 problem left, the logo and the music player aren't positioned well, the player must be aligned more to the right, and the logo more to the left..
    Nevermind, it was an IE6 bug:
    "When a margin is applied to a floated box on the same side as the direction the box is floated AND the floated box is the first one inside its containing box, the margin is doubled. (In other words, a left-floated box with margin-left set to move it away from its containing box will be twice as far away from the left edge of the containing box as intended.)"
    Thanks for helping!
    Last edited by Brent; 03-06-2008 at 11:45 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ankara, Turkey
    Posts
    160
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    You may overcome the margin bug by the file I mentioned

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you, but when I added that file, IE5.5 added some weird space just above the 3 flyers..

    Though IE5.5 isn't a browser 2 worry about... my site is now working properly

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    just north of Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,806
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 72 Times in 72 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Brent View Post
    damn, the solution was very easy!

    Some of the menu items were 237px wide.. and other were 238px.. that 1px made the difference. Setting the menu table to 237px, and also the width of the menu-images solved the problem.
    I am going to assume you are using table cells, and I will ask why aren't you using an unordered list with a display inline style?


    Quote Originally Posted by Brent View Post
    Thank you, but when I added that file, IE5.5 added some weird space just above the 3 flyers..

    Though IE5.5 isn't a browser 2 worry about... my site is now working properly
    why wouldn't it be? There are many users that still run IE5.5 as their main browser. It is usually good general coding practice to offer support for at least 2 versions previous of the currently released platform version.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I've looked at the statics of my site...

    and these are the results:

    pos. browsers visiters percentage
    1 MS Explorer 7.x 22.305 43.09%
    2 MS Explorer 6.x 21.092 40.75%
    3 Firefox 2.x 7.026 13.57%
    4 Firefox 1.x 876 1.69%
    5 Safari 523.x 183 0.35%
    6 Onbekend 70 0.14%
    7 Opera 9.x 45 0.09%
    8 MS Explorer 5.x 34 0.07%

    so IE5.5 isn't that much used..


    I used tables, because that was the only solution, before the table I used:

    Code:
    	
    			<div id="menu">
    <a href="index.html" target="_parent" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('Image4','','images/menu_afbeeldingen/rollover/menu_rollover_03.jpg',1)" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()"><img src="images/menu_afbeeldingen/normaal/menu_normaal_03.jpg" name="Image4" width="237" height="34" border="0" id="Image4" /></a> 
    <a href=...> .. more buttons ...</a>
    <a href=...> .. more buttons ...</a>
    <a href=...> .. more buttons ...</a>
    </div>
    but IE7, 6 and 5.5 wouldn't work with that ... they putted some space between the buttons, therefor I used the tables. If I should adjust it now...it's quite a large and boring job because i've to do 20+ pages..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    just north of Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,806
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 72 Times in 72 Posts

    Default

    <div id="menu">
    <a href="index.html" target="_parent" onmouseover="MM_swapImage('Image4','','images/menu_afbeeldingen/rollover/menu_rollover_03.jpg',1)" onmouseout="MM_swapImgRestore()"><img src="images/menu_afbeeldingen/normaal/menu_normaal_03.jpg" name="Image4" width="237" height="34" border="0" id="Image4" /></a>
    <a href=...> .. more buttons ...</a>
    <a href=...> .. more buttons ...</a>
    <a href=...> .. more buttons ...</a>
    </div>
    what about a list?

    Code:
    <ul id="menu">
         <li><a href="">Link</a></li>
         <li><a href="">Link</a></li>
         <li><a href="">Link</a></li>
    </ul>
    then using a display css style to get them horizontally

    Code:
    ul#menu li {
         list-style: none;
         display: inline;
    }

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    It's a good idea, I have to admit, but I think it isn't worth it to adjust 20+ pages one by one...

    The 'Table' does his job ..

    "getting them horizontaly" , why? My menu is verticaly right?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •