Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Need help fixing this... *tis frustrating*

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Not telling! (sorry...)
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry Need help fixing this... *tis frustrating*

    1) Script Title: Floating Menu Script

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/staticmenu.htm

    3) Describe problem: The menu shows up in the top left corner of the screen, but is too far up... you can't see the title or the first link inside the box, and I haven't been able to figure out how to fix it. I also want to move it so that it's down in the bottom left corner, but I don't know how.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Default

    Can you provide a link to a live page?
    --Jas
    function GreatMinds(){ return "Think Like Jas"; }
    I'm gone for a while, but in the meantime: Try using my FTP script | Fight Bot Form Submissions

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Not telling! (sorry...)
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    um... no. I don't have it on a server yet... would posting a copy of the script work?
    Last edited by Twilightrose917; 03-05-2008 at 05:42 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Default

    That would work fine
    And what browser are you viewing in? Or is this a problem in all browsers?
    --Jas
    function GreatMinds(){ return "Think Like Jas"; }
    I'm gone for a while, but in the meantime: Try using my FTP script | Fight Bot Form Submissions

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Not telling! (sorry...)
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    It doesn't work in IE, but when I tried it this morning on a different computer I used Safari and it worked fine... there are links to other pages that i've made - do you need the script for those pages as well or can you work with just the homepage?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Default

    I had guessed as much. It seems 90% of problems are reported in IE, lol. Anyway, only the code in question will be necessary (i.e. the html, css, and javascript; No other pages should be needed). Be sure to put the code in code tags [code][/code].
    --Jas
    function GreatMinds(){ return "Think Like Jas"; }
    I'm gone for a while, but in the meantime: Try using my FTP script | Fight Bot Form Submissions

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Not telling! (sorry...)
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    okay - here it is:

    Code:
     <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />
    <title>Portfolio Index</title>
    <style type="text/css">
    <!--
    body,td,th {
    	font-size: 12pt;
    	color: #000000;
    }
    body {
    	background-color: #0099FF;
    }
    a {
    	font-family: Papyrus;
    	font-size: 12pt;
    	color: #FF0000;
    }
    a:link {
    	text-decoration: underline;
    }
    a:visited {
    	text-decoration: underline;
    	color: #9900FF;
    }
    a:hover {
    	text-decoration: none;
    }
    a:active {
    	text-decoration: underline;
    }
    .style1 {font-size: 18pt}
    -->
    </style>
    
    </head>
    
    <body>
    
    <div align="center" class="style1"><p>Welcome!</p></div>
    <div align="center"><h4><p>&nbsp;My name is Alyssa Chvala, and this website is going to be my portfolio. Feel free to look around - I've done work in several different programs and media, including Photoshop, Flash, Illistrator, pencil, pen, pastel, paint. The Navigation bar should be to your left, and it's relatively easy to use. :)</p></h4></div>
    <script>
    if (!document.layers)
    document.write('<div id="divStayTopLeft" style="position:absolute">')
    </script>
    
    <layer id="divStayTopLeft">
    
    <!--EDIT BELOW CODE TO YOUR OWN MENU-->
    
    <table border="1" width="175" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
      <tr>
        
    <td width="100%" bgcolor="#00AACC">
          
    <p align="center"><b><font size="4">Navigation Menu</font></b></td>
      </tr>
      <tr>
        
    <td width="100%" bgcolor="#00FFFF">
          
    <p align="center">*
    <a href="Index.html">Home </a><br>
    <a href="about me.html">About Me </a><br>
      *
        <a href="photoshop.html">Photoshop</a><br>
      *
        <a href="illistrator.html">Illistrator </a><br>
      *
        <a href="flash.html">Flash</a><br>
      *
      <a href="noncomputerwork.html">Non- Computer Work </a></td>
      
    </tr>
    </table>
    <!--END OF EDIT-->
    
    </layer>
    
    
    
    <script type="text/javascript">
    
    /*
    Floating Menu script-  Roy Whittle (http://www.javascript-fx.com/)
    Script featured on/available at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/
    This notice must stay intact for use
    */
    
    //Enter "frombottom" or "fromtop"
    var verticalpos="frombottom"
    
    if (!document.layers)
    document.write('</div>')
    
    function JSFX_FloatTopDiv()
    {
    	var startX = 3,
    	startY = 150;
    	var ns = (navigator.appName.indexOf("Netscape") != -1);
    	var d = document;
    	function ml(id)
    	{
    		var el=d.getElementById?d.getElementById(id):d.all?d.all[id]:d.layers[id];
    		if(d.layers)el.style=el;
    		el.sP=function(x,y){this.style.left=x;this.style.top=y;};
    		el.x = startX;
    		if (verticalpos=="fromtop")
    		el.y = startY;
    		else{
    		el.y = ns ? pageYOffset + innerHeight : document.body.scrollTop + document.body.clientHeight;
    		el.y -= startY;
    		}
    		return el;
    	}
    	window.stayTopLeft=function()
    	{
    		if (verticalpos=="fromtop"){
    		var pY = ns ? pageYOffset : document.body.scrollTop;
    		ftlObj.y += (pY + startY - ftlObj.y)/8;
    		}
    		else{
    		var pY = ns ? pageYOffset + innerHeight : document.body.scrollTop + document.body.clientHeight;
    		ftlObj.y += (pY - startY - ftlObj.y)/8;
    		}
    		ftlObj.sP(ftlObj.x, ftlObj.y);
    		setTimeout("stayTopLeft()", 10);
    	}
    	ftlObj = ml("divStayTopLeft");
    	stayTopLeft();
    }
    JSFX_FloatTopDiv();
    </script>
    </body>
    </html>
    that's for the index page - and the problem is on all the pages that I created, but I think once we fix this one I should be able to fix the rest...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Default

    After a couple of shots at it, I think I've got it. Try this:
    Code:
    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=ISO-8859-1" />
    <title>Portfolio Index</title>
    <style type="text/css">
    <!--
    body,td,th {
    	font-size: 12pt;
    	color: #000000;
    }
    body {
    	background-color: #0099FF;
    }
    a {
    	font-family: Papyrus;
    	font-size: 12pt;
    	color: #FF0000;
    }
    a:link {
    	text-decoration: underline;
    }
    a:visited {
    	text-decoration: underline;
    	color: #9900FF;
    }
    a:hover {
    	text-decoration: none;
    }
    a:active {
    	text-decoration: underline;
    }
    .style1 {font-size: 18pt}
    -->
    </style>
    
    </head>
    
    <body>
    
    <div align="center" class="style1"><p>Welcome!</p></div>
    <div align="center"><h4><p>&nbsp;My name is Alyssa Chvala, and this website is going to be my portfolio. Feel free to look around - I've done work in several different programs and media, including Photoshop, Flash, Illistrator, pencil, pen, pastel, paint. The Navigation bar should be to your left, and it's relatively easy to use. :)</p></h4></div>
    <script>
    if (!document.layers)
    document.write('<div id="divStayTopLeft" style="position:absolute">')
    </script>
    
    <layer id="divStayTopLeft">
    
    <!--EDIT BELOW CODE TO YOUR OWN MENU-->
    
    <table border="1" width="175" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
      <tr>
        
    <td width="100%" bgcolor="#00AACC">
          
    <p align="center"><b><font size="4">Navigation Menu</font></b></td>
      </tr>
      <tr>
        
    <td width="100%" bgcolor="#00FFFF">
          
    <p align="center">*
    <a href="Index.html">Home </a><br>
    <a href="about me.html">About Me </a><br>
      *
        <a href="photoshop.html">Photoshop</a><br>
      *
        <a href="illistrator.html">Illistrator </a><br>
      *
        <a href="flash.html">Flash</a><br>
      *
      <a href="noncomputerwork.html">Non- Computer Work </a></td>
      
    </tr>
    </table>
    <!--END OF EDIT-->
    
    </layer>
    
    
    
    <script type="text/javascript">
    
    /*
    Floating Menu script-  Roy Whittle (http://www.javascript-fx.com/)
    Script featured on/available at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/
    This notice must stay intact for use
    */
    
    //Enter "frombottom" or "fromtop"
    var verticalpos="frombottom"
    
    if (!document.layers)
    document.write('</div>')
    
    function JSFX_FloatTopDiv()
    {
    	var startX = 3,
    	startY = 150;
    	var ns = (navigator.appName.indexOf("Netscape") != -1);
    	var d = document;
    	function ml(id)
    	{
    		var el=d.getElementById?d.getElementById(id):d.all?d.all[id]:d.layers[id];
    		if(d.layers)el.style=el;
    		el.sP=function(x,y){this.style.left=x;this.style.top=y;};
    		el.x = startX;
    		if (verticalpos=="fromtop")
    		el.y = startY;
    		else{
    		el.y = ns ? pageYOffset + innerHeight : document.body.scrollTop + document.body.clientHeight;
    		el.y -= startY;
    		}
    		return el;
    	}
    	window.stayTopLeft=function()
    	{
    		if (verticalpos=="fromtop"){
    		var pY = ns ? pageYOffset : document.body.scrollTop;
    		ftlObj.y += (pY + startY - ftlObj.y)/8;
    		}
    		else{
    		var pY = ns ? pageYOffset + innerHeight : document.body.scrollTop + document.body.clientHeight;
    		ftlObj.y += (pY - startY - ftlObj.y -35)/8;
    		}
    		ftlObj.sP(ftlObj.x, ftlObj.y);
    		setTimeout("stayTopLeft()", 10);
    	}
    	ftlObj = ml("divStayTopLeft");
    	stayTopLeft();
    }
    JSFX_FloatTopDiv();
    </script>
    </body>
    </html>
    The problem was that the menu was bigger then it was suppose to be, so it was down past the bottom edge of the screen. I compensated with a -35 (in red).

    My browser (Fire Fox on Linux) also had a problem with the doc type, but that may just be me. Anyway, I had to take it out for testing, so that's why it's missing. That may also have been a problem.
    --Jas
    function GreatMinds(){ return "Think Like Jas"; }
    I'm gone for a while, but in the meantime: Try using my FTP script | Fight Bot Form Submissions

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Jas For This Useful Post:

    Twilightrose917 (03-06-2008)

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Not telling! (sorry...)
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    it works now! thank you SO much. But now... what part of the code do i need to replace in the other pages to make it work there? or do i just need to change that one bit to -35?

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Default

    Your welcome Add the -35, and possibly take out the doc type if it still doesn't work. I know you shouldn't do that, but I couldn't get it to work with it. I looked at the DynamicDrive doc type in the example for guidance, and they didn't have one! lol
    --Jas
    function GreatMinds(){ return "Think Like Jas"; }
    I'm gone for a while, but in the meantime: Try using my FTP script | Fight Bot Form Submissions

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •