Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Ultimate Fade-in slideshow - How do I make it stop?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Ultimate Fade-in slideshow - How do I make it stop?

    1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade-in slideshow

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...nslideshow.htm

    3) Describe problem: The script is amazing, but I have one simple problem. How do I make the slideshow stop at the last image? I do not want the slideshow to repeat itself over and over again. I tried manipulating with the coding, particularly the mouseover part where it gets the slideshow to stop. However, I'm new at javascript and stink at it.

    If anyone out there could help me or provide me the necessary codes to stop the slideshow at the last image I would really appreciate it.

    Thank you. =)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jscheuer1 For This Useful Post:

    AndyPoo (02-28-2008)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you so much.

    Another problem with the slideshow is the random appearance of white dots (1x1 px) that appear on my images.

    Is there any way to remove them? They appear in IE 7 but not in firefox.

    I've tried changing the background colour to black and it helped a bit, but the white dots can now be seen during the transition/fade in.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    I believe that someone came up with an even easier way of dealing with this known issue in IE involving fade transitions and .jpg images, but at the moment, this is the best reference I can find:

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/s...89&postcount=2

    It would only be the first 7 or so lines in that post that relate to this issue. Hopefully you know your way around your image editor well enough to use this information. I have tried it, and it works.

    If you need more help on it, let me know. In the meantime, I will continue to look for this other solution, and report back if I find it, and it is applicable..
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default solution

    A bit tacky but

    remove this on seconf occurance after canvas_1

    'filterrogidXImageTransform.Microsoft.alpha(opacity=10);

    now load each picture twice.

    I do something like this

    var i;
    i=0;
    //SET IMAGE PATHS. Extend or contract array as needed

    fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0002.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0002.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0004.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0004.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0006.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0006.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0007.jpg", "", ""]


    You need to halve the time allotted for each picture

    I believe the bug has somthing to do with IE Exploxer mapping black to transparent - but I don't know why the above works

    =====
    As an aside I make this list with perl

    #!/usr/bin/perl


    $frame = 0;
    @list = glob("*.jpg");
    foreach $i (@list)
    {
    printf " fadeimages[i++]=[\"%s\", \"\", \"\"]\n",$i;
    printf " fadeimages[i++]=[\"%s\", \"\", \"\"]\n",$i;
    }

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •