Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Need help finding a Hit counter for a webpage

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation Need help finding a Hit counter for a webpage

    [url*=http://game3.mafiadeath.com/profile/6917/rate/up.php] If I Busted You Out Click Here*[/url]

    I put the stars in so it wouldn't post

    ^thats the format that the page accepts. Sorry i don't know the name lol. I just want a hit counter that will count the page views, so if someone could find one or make me one that would be amazing

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,486
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    If you want a hit/stat counter there is none better than bbclone. This thing records everything, tells you everything and is secure, accurate and detailed. It will tell you everything about the visitor except their mothers maiden name (but I think that is coming in the next release )

    If your server is php enabled I would go with this one. It's fairly easy to set up as well.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {OSTU - Psycho} {Invasion - Team}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @Negative_Chaos
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Thank-you for the advice. I just installed. looks nice. I had been doing a little storage in my database ... prefer this little application instead.

    Need to learn more about setting up security so only I can access the logs (perhaps will have to add password to the /bbclone folder via .htaccess ?). Also to learn how to delete data from logs ... get rid of my testing. I like how it has a large following and lots of forum posts ... good sign my questions have already been answered.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,486
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I use .htaccess for password protection in that logs folder as well.

    Also if you open the conf/config.php you will see all your little "can-dos" near the end you will find

    Code:
    $BBC_KILL_STATS = ""
    Change it to

    Code:
    $BBC_KILL_STATS = 1;
    Save and reupload, then visit any page that has the counter code on it.

    This will reset everything. Once reset, go back and change the 1 to "" again.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {OSTU - Psycho} {Invasion - Team}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @Negative_Chaos
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    I got the /bbcode folder password protected now via htaccess.

    Something been nagging me for a while. If I forget to type https:// and only type the http:// then the IE will warn me about sending password over insecure connection. I actually like that warning. Want to get in habit of using https since I do coffee shop internet access and with wifi connection. Yes, I do have ssl on my shared host account so it's cool with encryption.

    Do you know correct .htaccess directive to force the https:// page whenever the http:// page is requested? It's probably possible. I just don't know .htaccess (mod rewrite) well.

    Thanks again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    543
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 78 Times in 78 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    redirects http://www.yoursite.com/anything and http://yoursite.com/anything to https://www.yoursite.com/anything.
    Code:
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteRule ^(.*)?$ https://www.YourSite.com/$1 [R=301,L]
    Last edited by Master_script_maker; 02-11-2008 at 07:56 PM.
    [Jasme Library (Javascript Motion Effects)] My Site
    /\/\@ /\/\@|{
    There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those that understand binary and those that don't.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Hey, thanks a lot for the reply

    I put this in the .htaccess of folder /adminfolder and it isn't happy. Getting FF message "The page isn't redirecting properly" And yea, the "domain" is switched with my real domain, and the "adminfolder" is being changed with my real adminfolder.

    Code:
    #redirects http://www.domain.com/adminfolder/*anything* 
    # and http://domain.com/adminfolder/*anything* 
    # to https://www.domain.com/adminfolder/*anything*
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteRule ^(.*)?$ https://www.domain.com/adminfolder/$1 [R=301,L]
    It seems like the url is being change correctly, just the error stops page from loading? Any other ideas?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    I see there is issue with BBClone. The data file gets large and then PHP is slow, or not able to handle it and page won't load. I'm on shared host that has some strict user limit on cpu time. Worried this will be an issue.

    I also see the dang BBClone wiki (http://help.bbclone.de/) pages are having errors, if page loads at all. I suspect this is an issue with the counter, not with the wiki. Kinda worrisome. I never want to see that error on my website.

    Code:
    Parse error: parse error, unexpected $ in /usr/local/www/help/stats/var/access.php on line 25521
    Also, the referrer doesn not seem to be working? Read something about that, said something about include() messes with the referrer. Can't seem to understand why? This works in my php script

    Code:
    $referer = $_SERVER['HTTP_REFERER'];
    right next to the BBClone include stuff. For some reason the BBClone isn't recording referrer. Hmm. Gonna do some more forum searching.

    http://forum.bbclone.de/index.php/m/...errer#msg_6022


    I think I should archive my data by CRON. Somehow tar and gzip the /var directory? Any thoughts? Also, think I better turn off automatic IP DNS lookup cause that would slow down page load too. What do you suggest? I tried to register to their forum, but that seems also kinda flaky. Still waiting for the registration email.

    I see there is way to include the data from /access inside my PHP pages. That is neat feature. I was very happy about this application, but now getting worried it is not able to scale? Would you discuss your experience with it?
    Last edited by Aaron; 02-12-2008 at 06:11 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,486
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Their site is written by someone outside the counter team. I see their parse error all the time, something with the German in the php it counts hits and then updates hits but the "re" direct doesn't initiate. If you refresh the page it works straight away. This won't affect your page/site, unless you code like them

    I am not sure what your limits are but I have never had time out problems because of code. I have every option turned on, have detailed stats set at 600, IP/DNS works and I have never had an issue with something not working.

    All I do is check their site about once a month or so and make sure I have the latest updated files. (I didn't even know they had a forum ) Been using it since June of 2005, only had one issue and that was in November of '05, since then I stay updated and no issues.

    Also heard that when you get a high count (they defined high as over 500,000) it can stop working, or something. I currently have over 4 million unique hits and 33 million page hits, and it keeps clicking over.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {OSTU - Psycho} {Invasion - Team}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @Negative_Chaos
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    543
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 78 Times in 78 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    Hey, thanks a lot for the reply

    I put this in the .htaccess of folder /adminfolder and it isn't happy. Getting FF message "The page isn't redirecting properly" And yea, the "domain" is switched with my real domain, and the "adminfolder" is being changed with my real adminfolder.

    Code:
    #redirects http://www.domain.com/adminfolder/*anything* 
    # and http://domain.com/adminfolder/*anything* 
    # to https://www.domain.com/adminfolder/*anything*
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteRule ^(.*)?$ https://www.domain.com/adminfolder/$1 [R=301,L]
    It seems like the url is being change correctly, just the error stops page from loading? Any other ideas?
    try:
    Code:
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteRule ^(/)?(.*)?$ https://www.domain.com/adminfolder$1$2 [R=301,L]
    [Jasme Library (Javascript Motion Effects)] My Site
    /\/\@ /\/\@|{
    There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those that understand binary and those that don't.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •