Advanced Search

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Configuring Xampp and Dreamweaver 8 on Vista

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Configuring Xampp and Dreamweaver 8 on Vista

    I am trying to make PHP pages that connect to a database in Dreamweaver.
    Please bear with me as I am a newbee.
    I am testing this out so the database for now will be on my computer on localhost.
    I turned off IIS and installed XAMPP.
    Apache and MySql are running.
    I converted a Microsoft access database to SQL (mySQL), using Database Converter from Zen Wrez.
    I put the converted database in C:\xampp\htdocs.
    In XAMMP under the Apache Admin button, phpMyAdmin (under tools), my database does not show up. How do I set this up and connect it?
    Last edited by GlenConaway; 01-21-2008 at 03:20 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    You need to import the SQL in phpMyAdmin.
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Many Thanks for the reply,
    Ok, I am starting to figure this out. I created a database and named it mydb. Then I imported my database and I am getting errors.
    I left the Character set of the file at the default of utf8, unselected partial import and tried different options of SQL compatibility mode (what should I use?).
    I am getting an error, apparently something is wrong under three of my colums.

    Here is my error:
    Error

    SQL query:

    CREATE TABLE CHRISTIANKARAOKE(
    PRIMARY KEY ( R_num ) ,
    R_num BIGINT,
    C_numC_numK_num_I_numD VARCHAR( 40 ) ,
    SOFTWARE VARCHAR( 34 ) ,
    SOFTWARE__num VARCHAR( 20 ) ,
    SERIES VARCHAR( 35 ) ,
    VOL VARCHAR( 10 ) ,
    TRACK__num VARCHAR( 10 ) ,
    SONG_TITLE VARCHAR( 81 ) ,
    SONGTITLElowercase VARCHAR( 50 ) ,
    SONGTITLEA_Z VARCHAR( 50 ) ,
    LEAD_VOCAL VARCHAR( 10 ) ,
    ARTIST VARCHAR( 55 ) ,
    ARTISTLOWERCASE VARCHAR( 255 ) ,
    ARTISTA_Z VARCHAR( 50 ) ,
    STYLE VARCHAR( 40 ) ,
    CHRISTMAS SMALLINT,
    KEY VARCHAR( 15 ) ,
    M / F VARCHAR( 21 ) ,
    AGE_GROUP VARCHAR( 20 ) ,
    MAGAZINE VARCHAR( 19 ) ,
    MEGADISK_num BIGINT,
    MEGADISCTRACK_num BIGINT,
    MEGAID_num VARCHAR( 50 ) ,
    DUET SMALLINT,
    NEWADITION SMALLINT,
    MAG_num_TRACK VARCHAR( 10 )
    );

    MySQL said: Documentation
    #1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'VARCHAR(15),
    M/F VARCHAR(21),
    AGE_GROUP VARCHAR(20),
    MAGAZINE ' at line 19



    Is there a way to fix this?
    Last edited by GlenConaway; 01-21-2008 at 07:21 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    You'll need to create a database first.
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the reply,
    read my previous post which I edited before I saw your reply,
    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Code:
    CREATE DATABASE `CHRISTIANKAROKE`;
    CREATE TABLE `CHRISTIANKAROKE`.`CHRISTIANKARAOKE`(
    PRIMARY KEY ( R_num ) ,
    R_num BIGINT,
    C_numC_numK_num_I_numD VARCHAR( 40 ) ,
    SOFTWARE VARCHAR( 34 ) ,
    SOFTWARE__num VARCHAR( 20 ) ,
    SERIES VARCHAR( 35 ) ,
    VOL VARCHAR( 10 ) ,
    TRACK__num VARCHAR( 10 ) ,
    SONG_TITLE VARCHAR( 81 ) ,
    SONGTITLElowercase VARCHAR( 50 ) ,
    SONGTITLEA_Z VARCHAR( 50 ) ,
    LEAD_VOCAL VARCHAR( 10 ) ,
    ARTIST VARCHAR( 55 ) ,
    ARTISTLOWERCASE VARCHAR( 255 ) ,
    ARTISTA_Z VARCHAR( 50 ) ,
    STYLE VARCHAR( 40 ) ,
    CHRISTMAS SMALLINT,
    KEY VARCHAR( 15 ) ,
    M / F VARCHAR( 21 ) ,
    AGE_GROUP VARCHAR( 20 ) ,
    MAGAZINE VARCHAR( 19 ) ,
    MEGADISK_num BIGINT,
    MEGADISCTRACK_num BIGINT,
    MEGAID_num VARCHAR( 50 ) ,
    DUET SMALLINT,
    NEWADITION SMALLINT,
    MAG_num_TRACK VARCHAR( 10 )
    );
    Edit: Oh wait, didn't read the reply properly. There's something wrong with your table SQL. Just try creating it in phpMyAdmin.
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Many thanks for the reply,
    I have a microsoft database table that has many records in it.
    I need to get all these records in my database.
    Can I do this by creating it in phpMyAdmin?
    I was thinking converting it to sql would be easier?
    I was using Database Converter from Zen Wrez, but this must have created some errors.

    What’s the best way to do this?
    Thanks.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •