Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: flash load problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The stage
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Default flash load problem

    I have a flash banner for my band's website... *I manage the site*
    the link to the page is below...
    here
    when the page is refreshed *atleast for me* it freezes the browser *firefox* and leaves it hanging for like 3-4 seconds... this is the first time i've ever used sounds for a menu... and it works, but there is this unusual lag... can anyone tell me what it is?

    Thanks - Ian from Dank Lemon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,494
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Hmm.. happens onload for me... no refreshing needed. It may be the music, I will have to have a closer look in a little bit.

    In the mean time you can try using SWFObject to embed it, as this is more widely (as per browsers) accepted.

    If you have the sound inside the movie, you can make sure your sound settings upon publish are correct.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {Freelance Copywriter} {Learn to Write}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @InkingHubris
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Currently: New York/Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 519 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BLiZZaRD View Post
    If you have the sound inside the movie, you can make sure your sound settings upon publish are correct.
    Right.

    Or...move the sound outside the flash and call it in through a few lines of code. It's pretty easy to add sound in the type of application that you're using it with code.

    That'll reduce the load time.

    Other than that, I don't see what the problem could be.

    Note: You might have wanted it that way, but there are onRollOver states on the little hazard sign icons and they don't link to anything. The general assumption is that onRollOver states signify buttons (especially if the functionality is exactly the same as the rest of the buttons).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The stage
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    yeah, i did make it so that the hazard signs are not linked... there just dividers... I don't know flash that well, how would i link the sound using action script or what ever your talking about...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Currently: New York/Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 519 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    Code:
    button.onRollOver = function() {
         overSound = new Sound(this);
         overSound.attachSound("click");
         overSound.start();
    }
    The key to this working is applying the correct linkage identifier. To do this, right click on the sound file that you want to use in the library (assuming you've imported it already since you're using it on the timeline).

    Click Advanced (if not already up by default).

    Add identifier (click in my example) to the text field.

    Add that actionscript to a frame (not the actual movieclip). If you like adding actionscript to the actual movieclip (which isn't a very good idea and you should get away from doing), change it to this:

    Code:
    on (rollover) {
    	overSound = new Sound(this);
    	overSound.attachSound("coolsound");
    	overSound.start();
    }

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The stage
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    k thanks man I'm sure it was either the way i had the sound files embed or the font... Thanks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •