Thread: show year in html page

Thanks

Default show year in html page

I am new to PHP and have read tutorials and have created a .php called date.php with the coding:

PHP Code:
    <html>
     <head>
      <title>PHP Date Test</title>
     </head>
     <body>

Copyright &copy; 2003-<?php
    echo date("Y");
    ?> Autograph Arcade.  &nbsp;All rights reserved.

</body>
    </html>
    then if I type in the domain www.autographarcade.com/date.php it works and shows the sentence and the current year which is what I want.

My problem is, how do I now put this script in front of the words in the other html documents so it shows the current year and I do not have to change hundreds of pages manually every year?

Thanks AndyK

Edit: Wrapped the code in [php][/php] tags
    Last edited by tech_support; 01-10-2008 at 01:22 AM.

Thanks

put
    Code:
    <?php
    echo date("Y");
    ?>
    in every file just like you have in this... or better yet... separate the footer file and include the footer on every page so if you ever change the footer all of the pages change instead of changing each page manually

Thanks

Hello, I tried that but it doesn't work. That script has to be in a .php doesnt it? It doesn't work in a .html. There must be more to it.

Thanks

yes pages must be in a form of php extension.

Thanks

So are saying I need to change ALL the .html pages to .php? That can't be right that's WAY to much work all the links and everything would have to changed that would take months and I mean months. Plus the search engines has the pages in as html. That would take ages to pick them all up. Unless I am not understanding what you are saying? Isn't they any kind of other script I can just put in the html file that will change the date automatically?

Thanks

You could probably use javascript, but that wouldn't be as effective because end users can disable javascript in their browsers.

Hope this helps.