Thread: Random style sheet + Random content... Possible?

Thanks

Question Random style sheet + Random content... Possible?

Hi, I'm new to these forums and my knowledge of JS is minimal. But, if someone kind would consider helping me out, I'll really appreciate it.

I've been fighting problem after problem trying to implement an idea I had (I really didn't think it would be difficult when I started.) I like to make my own home page and store it on my hard drive. I just wanted to have it have a random style and MIDI (that could be turned on and off via an iframe) each time I load it.

I thought I found just the right script on JSKit, but the random content can't be applied to the style sheet in either FF2 or IE7. (I should have known better. *blush*)

DD, on the other hand, has a script even better than what I imagined for a random style sheet.

I would really, really love to be able to fuse these two scripts somehow, but as I said, I'm a JS novice, and I haven't a clue how to go about it.

The (particularly excellent) random content script can be found here:
    http://www.javascriptkit.com/script/...mcontent.shtml

The (mind-blowingly cool) random style sheet is here:
    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...etswitcher.htm

If anybody has any ideas on how to do this, or where I can find such a script, please post! (I promise I won't abandon the thread and put you out for no reason like many newbies are prone to doing.)

PS: Just to clarify, I'm hoping for this script because I'd like the style sheet and the random content linked, rather than have each one be independently random.
    Last edited by candied_ram; 01-09-2008 at 04:50 PM. Reason: Adding clarification

Thanks

I think this is what you want, to have each time the page loads, a random style is embedded.

Just change the values in the array to the random style sheets:

Code:
    <script language="JavaScript">
    <!--
    styles = new Array