Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sizing a website

Thanks

Default Sizing a website

Hi Guys,

What is the best advice for sizing a website to suit differant monitor sizes. I am in the process of designing a site which looks good on my wide screen laptop (wasted on me) but looks awful when viewed on smaller monitors. Is there a standard rule of thumb to handle this problem?

Thanking you in advance,

Paul

Thanks

I think 1024*768's the bare minimum.
    800*600 is extinct, and so is 640*480.
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

Thanks

I'm not a professional by any means, but I usually try to keep my sites around the 800×600 resolution. That way you can target the majority of web surfers. But that is just my opinion.

Thanks

Default Screen sizes for web sites.

Thank you for your speedy and helpful reply. This is not the first time you have taken the trouble to help me out and no doubt it won't be the last.

We need more people likeyou and I am sure that the majority of regs will agree.

Thanking you once again,

Paul

Thanks
    Blog Entries

800*600 is extinct, and so is 640*480
    Be careful there... I would tend to agree with 640*480, but in 2 years of running my site and 4 million visitors, I have seen a TON still using 800*600. I have near blind players, older players and those with just overall bad vision that rely upon 800*600 resolution.

Don't knock it yet.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {Freelance Copywriter} {Learn to Write}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @InkingHubris
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

Thanks

Thumbs up Screen Resolution