Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Websites that have copy/paste and print screen disabled.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Websites that have copy/paste and print screen disabled.

    Hey everyone,

    Just wondering if there is a way to copy and paste from websites that have the function disabled? Actually I know there is a way as I've seen people do it plently of times before at school haha. I read on another forum a user claiming to be able to get around the problem in 20 seconds??

    I've disabled JavaScript on FF and can now hightlight and right click on the webpage, but whenever I go to paste into Word all that appears is "*".
    Any advice?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,893
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 966 Times in 954 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    BY disabling JavaScript, that should do the trick, unless the page also uses CSS to shift contents on the page around, so what you think you're copying in fact isn't.

    Try disabling CSS as well using any one of Firefox's plugins that do this, for example: http://www.everythingtech.tv/2006/05...e-myspace-css/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hmmm, well now I can copy and paste some of the text, but all of the images are missing!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium (Europe)
    Posts
    807
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    I have seen a few sites that disabled right-click, and even going to the screen menubar (source) nothing comes up. How is that done in IE ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    just north of Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,806
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 72 Times in 72 Posts

    Default

    Tools->Internet Options->Security Tab bar->Custom Level->Disable Active scripting (at the end of the list)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium (Europe)
    Posts
    807
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Tools->Internet Options->Security Tab bar->Custom Level->Disable Active scripting (at the end of the list)
    If I do this on my computer, how will this stop you from seeing the source ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,162
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    It won't stop anyone from seeing the source. It will stop Javascript from working, though.

    You can just to a print screen to get any image.

    However, the real point here is that the images and other content are copyrighted. It's not ok to copy it, whether you can or can't, unless you have permission. It's not hard to steal content, because no restrictions work very well, but that doesn't mean that it's legal, or ok to.


    This forum isn't about how to steal stuff, though, so please keep that in mind.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,486
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chechu View Post
    and even going to the screen menubar (source) nothing comes up. How is that done in IE ?
    It's not. If you view a source code and it is all blank... scroll down as I promise they have a ton of blank space atop their source.

    To answer the OP question, if you see something you need to C&P all you have to do is view source code, and copy it from there.

    If it is on the page it is in the source. (with rare exceptions)
    {CWoT - Riddle } {OSTU - Psycho} {Invasion - Team}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @Negative_Chaos
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,162
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    The only exception is when it's added through Javascript/frames/etc, and then it's just a matter of following the layers.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium (Europe)
    Posts
    807
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Hey Blizzard, long time no see !

    It's not. If you view a source code and it is all blank... scroll down as I promise they have a ton of blank space atop their source.
    Yes, I see that trick quit often, but I swear I have seen sites where it is impossible to see the code. Something is disabled

    However, the real point here is that the images and other content are copyrighted. It's not ok to copy it, whether you can or can't, unless you have permission. It's not hard to steal content, because no restrictions work very well, but that doesn't mean that it's legal, or ok to.
    Totally agree, but the only way I learn to write sites is through looking at codes and going through this forum ...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •