Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Favicon vs I Explorer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Arrow Favicon vs I Explorer

    Hi

    One simple question!!

    I followed all the instructions to generate a favicon for my website, and it works perfectly fine if I view my site with Firefox or Opera, but the icon doesn┤t appear in I Explorer.

    Do you know why??

    http://www.comunidadf.com/

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,876
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    IE takes a few days to show new favicons sometimes. Try clearing the cache, that could help; however, I think IE may leave a residue. Whether that includes cached favicons or not, I'm not sure.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    In the battle of:

    Favicon vs I Explorer

    I Explorer will always win. This probably has been corrected in the v7 about to be released but, I cannot be certain. I also do not know why favicon support is so spotty in IE. I think it is simply faulty coding that results in one or more double bind situations whereas if the favicon gets displayed at all, it is soon overwritten by the default addressbar icon. There are some tricks that usually will get the favicon to display in IE, but keeping it that way is another story entirely. You may also have noticed that if you bookmark a site with favicon or drag it to the desktop as an icon, IE will sometimes display the favicon in the bookmarks listing or on the desktop. Unfortunately, this too is only temporary, owing in all likelihood to the same or similar coding glitches.

    Clearing the cache has little or nothing to do with these problems and may make them worse at times.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    It's weird....

    the dynamic drive it is shown indeed... but the ones you create with the tool... won't...

    I use IE7 and ccleaner, but still it won't show...

    anyway.. let's keep waiting... or use Firebird.. whatever comes first

    Greetings to all..

    Olguin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    a correction....

    on IE7 with ccleaner... it wil show the favicon... it's on IE6, where it is not shown...

    Honor where honor is due...

    Olguin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,876
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Firebird hasn't been called Firebird in a long time The name is already taken.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •