Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Problem with DHTML Tooltip script?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Problem with DHTML Tooltip script?

    Hi all,

    I am having a bit of a problem running the DHTML tooltip script which I obtained from

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...tmltooltip.htm

    The problem I am having have to do with it not showing properly when in frames. For example, if I have 2 frames, Frame A and Frame B, and the object that shows the tooltip is in Frame A. When I move my mouse over to the object, the tooltip will only show if Frame A is big enough to fit the tooltip (ie the height of the frame is large enough).

    So the question is, how do I make the tooltip show on top of all the frames?

    Note: I was using http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex5/texttool.htm as my tooltip and it worked, but I decided to change to the newer version as it looks much nicer.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Switch back. DHTML will not show outside its page borders. We might be able to figure a way to get it to reposition itself so that it lies visibly all within its frame. I'll have to get back to you on that, would that even be acceptable?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I think I would prefer it to work like the old one. So I guess I will just change back to the old one.

    Thanks anyway!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Btw, http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex5/texttool.htm is also a DHTML tooltip script...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mw_
    Btw, http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex5/texttool.htm is also a DHTML tooltip script...
    Um, yes, er well. Actually, that is a matter of semantics. It is little different than using the title="Some Description" attribute. In fact, it accesses that attribute of the elements it works with. That is why it can appear outside the browser window or frame, the same way title and alt attributes can, and with the same limitations on its appearance that those attributes have, with the exception of line breaks, which, if you are creative, you can get in a title attribute without this script.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jscheuer1
    Um, yes, er well. Actually, that is a matter of semantics. It is little different than using the title="Some Description" attribute. In fact, it accesses that attribute of the elements it works with. That is why it can appear outside the browser window or frame, the same way title and alt attributes can, and with the same limitations on its appearance that those attributes have, with the exception of line breaks, which, if you are creative, you can get in a title attribute without this script.

    I am having the same issues with regards to frames so I trying to use the http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex5/texttool.htm code but the <br> isn't working as it says it should.

    Even in the Tech Web sample it suggests that the break should be after the word happenings Visit Techweb for the latest happenings<br>in the computer sector but when I hover over Teckweb the line break for me occurs after the word computer.

    Am I missing something or does the <br> not work in this tooltip.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •