Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: graphics or ram?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,076
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lainlives View Post
    everyone beat me to it

    just a question, why was he banned
    Two ways of looking at it I can see:

    1 ) He posted like 5 or so 'stock' questions in several forums in rapid succession, all with the same advertisement attached. This made it pretty clear that he was either a 'bot' or a person here mainly for self promotion.

    or:

    2 ) Twey gave him an infraction (about the advert) which he ignored and posted it again. Twey gave him another infraction. He obviously ignored both. I independently gave him a similar infraction. The points added up to more than 20 - instant ban.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Acton Ontario Canada.
    Posts
    677
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    I have 1 1/2gbs of ram in my computer, and the time it takes for programs to boot up has significantly decreased from when i had 1/2gb...
    right now the only cap i have for performance is my CPU, it's only (lol, only...) 2.8ghz. most of it is occupied by the protein folding client i have running (90-60% is used by the client, rest is OS and other apps), i'm worried it'll explode or something if maxed at 100% for too long.
    http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...e=boxxertrumps
    not very impressive, but a start.
    - Ryan "Boxxertrumps" Trumpa
    Come back once it validates: HTML, CSS, JS.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    미네소타, 미국
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    overclock the cpu
    The only person I think is cool is -==INSERT YOUR NAME HERE==-

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,076
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boxxertrumps View Post
    protein folding client
    I'll have two dogs, sunny side up please. Make any interesting prions recently?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Acton Ontario Canada.
    Posts
    677
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    I dont know, how would i check?
    (no GUI for linux upsets me...)
    - Ryan "Boxxertrumps" Trumpa
    Come back once it validates: HTML, CSS, JS.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    I have 1 1/2gbs of ram in my computer, and the time it takes for programs to boot up has significantly decreased from when i had 1/2gb...
    It depends on how fast the RAM is. I have a friend with 2gb of DDRII 553Mhz and his programs load significantly faster on my computer (1gb DDRII 800Mhz)
    it's only (lol, only...) 2.8ghz.
    Dual-Core? My computer's 1.86Ghz Core 2 Duo.
    most of it is occupied by the protein folding client i have running (90-60% is used by the client, rest is OS and other apps),
    50% on both cores here.... and my stuff still runs fine.
    i'm worried it'll explode or something if maxed at 100% for too long.
    I wonder what will happen to servers then...
    Owned.
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Someone mentioned malware... you can dowload spypot and ad-aware, as well as avast antivirus from www.cnet.com (download sections). Run those and see what comes up. You can also click "start" "run" then type "msconfig" and click the startup tab. See what all is starting when your computer boots. Don't mess with things you don't recognize, but you can dump quicktime, adobe, and other items that you don't need to have run at start up. They just save you a small amount of time if you ever use their programs...

    One of the cheapest fixes out there for speed is a complete system wipe. Granted, this isn't something that happens fast... plan on an afternoon to re-install everything. Be sure you have your OS disc, and all other program discs as well. If you don't have a nice external flash drive, you may have to burn your data onto discs to keep it though...which is SLOWWWW....

    If you decide on a full wipe...be sure and create a few partitions on your drive. This way you can wipe the OS partition and start fresh the next time around.

    I think the fastest and easiest though is a RAM upgrade with a full scan of the system to remove crap. Be sure and run a bootup scan, as many nasties can hide otherwise...

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Acton Ontario Canada.
    Posts
    677
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tech_support View Post
    Dual-Core? My computer's 1.86Ghz Core 2 Duo.
    Single. Celeron D
    Quote Originally Posted by tech_support View Post
    /me feels inadequate.
    - Ryan "Boxxertrumps" Trumpa
    Come back once it validates: HTML, CSS, JS.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    /me feels inadequate.
    Haha. You'll get there, don't worry.
    Single. Celeron D
    *Shock*
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    미네소타, 미국
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Celeron D's are the best single core CPU's I have ever seen
    The only person I think is cool is -==INSERT YOUR NAME HERE==-

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •