Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: IE filter

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    🌎
    Posts
    528
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default IE filter

    Does anyone know why this doesn't work?
    Code:
    body {
    filter: dropShadow(offx=10, offy=10, positive=0);
    }
    ....(o_ Penguins
    .---/(o_- techno_racing
    +(---//\-' in
    .+(_)--(_)' The McMurdo 500

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Code:
    filter: progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.DropShadow(OffX=10, OffY=10, Positive=false);
    Filters are proprietary, however, and will only work in IE with ActiveX.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    🌎
    Posts
    528
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Hmph. Then why does:
    Code:
    body {
    filter: blur(direction=90, add=0, strength=10);
    }
    work in Firefox? And please check your PMs.
    ....(o_ Penguins
    .---/(o_- techno_racing
    +(---//\-' in
    .+(_)--(_)' The McMurdo 500

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Viet Nam
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    within my knowledge, filter often works fine on IE, a little works on FF. Some have different result between IE & Firefox, such as the filter control image opaticy...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Hmph. Then why does [the Blur filter] work in Firefox?
    It doesn't.
    within my knowledge, filter often works fine on IE, a little works on FF.
    As I said, it's purely an IE proprietary property -- they're basically just badly-written interfaces to DirectX functions. No other browser supports filters at all.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,072
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Yeah, but if you squint your eyes . . . I wouldn't rule out the possibility of other browsers supporting some or all of the IE proprietary filters. Opera now has limited support for scrollbar styles, using the same syntax as IE, but these are not filters. Other reasons why a particular IE proprietary filter might appear to work in another browser:

    1. IE emulation - at least some recent versions of two browsers that I am aware of (NS and FF) either have built into them or can have added to them an IE emulation mode.
    2. Accidental syntax cross pollination - this is a made up on the spot term that I mean to say that some browser, somewhere, may have its own way of doing something and that the IE proprietary syntax or one of its possible variants, as used somewhere (in scripting, style, whatever) may trigger that in that browser.
    3. Confusion - you are confusing for example, the blur() object with the IE proprietary filter:blur.
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 08-18-2007 at 06:36 PM. Reason: add 'confusion'
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Yeah, but if you squint your eyes . . .
    Heh
    I wouldn't rule out the possibility of other browsers supporting some or all of the IE proprietary filters.
    None are supported -- I did double-check after techno_race seemed so certain that Blur worked in Fx, but I can't find any mentions of filters in other browsers.
    Opera now has limited support for scrollbar styles, using the same syntax as IE
    Konqueror too.
    IE emulation - at least some recent versions of two browsers that I am aware of (NS and FF) either have built into them or can have added to them an IE emulation mode.
    Dean Edwards' IE emulation script, is this is what you mean, doesn't handle filters.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,072
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Twey View Post
    Dean Edwards' IE emulation script, is this is what you mean, doesn't handle filters.
    Never heard of it that I can recall. What I was referring to are recent NS versions that do an IE mode and the FF extension that may or may not be current to FF 2.0+ (I did try it out in FF 1.0.5 or so, I have no reason to emulate IE in FF) that allows FF to do the same.

    Both of these require an installed IE on the partition/vm/whatever, and probably under Windows only.
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 08-18-2007 at 07:33 PM. Reason: usage
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Ah -- that's not IE emulation, that's actual IE, running in the browser's interface. I thought you meant this one.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,072
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Twey View Post
    Ah -- that's not IE emulation
    Picky, picky. It really is IE emulation though. My reason for saying so is that it doesn't render exactly as IE would, just pretty much. The fact that it uses dll's and whatnot from an installed IE browser doesn't make it 'not an emulation'. It just isn't a 'stand alone' (not to be confused with the misnamed evolt browsers of the same designation, which also require an installed IE and therefore do not truly 'stand alone') emulation.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •