Thread: Need some advise please

Thanks

Default Need some advise please

I am quite new to php and Mysql.
    I am having problems with getting data from the mysql database when Im directed to another page.
    Using a log in script when it posts it checks that data from the mysql exists then directs me to an alternative page, if the data isnt in the mysql database it stays on the same page...simple so far.

If i use this code it will direct me to the "getin.php" page but I can not get any of the data of the user from the mysql into the "getin.php" page it seems to loose it. (Below is the code for login.php)

<?php

include 'config.php';

ob_start();
    echo "<left><font size=1><font face=\"verdana\"><b> Please enter your details here to log in</b></left></font><br><br>";
    echo "<left><font size=1><font face=\"verdana\"><font color=\"red\">If you are a new user please click the register link below..<br></font>";
    echo "<form action=\"./login.php\" method=\"POST\">";
    echo "NTID: <br><input type=\"text\" name=\"ntid\"><br>";

echo "Pass: <br><input type=\"password\" name=\"password\"><br>";
    echo "<input type=\"submit\" value=\"Login!\">";
    echo "</form>";
    echo "<br>Click <a href=\"reg/register.php\"><u>here!</u></a> to register your details";
    echo "<br>Cant Login? Click <a href=\"recovery.php\"><u>here!</u></font></a>";

$connection = @mysql_connect($hostname, $user, $pass)
    or die(mysql_error());
    $dbs = @mysql_select_db($database, $connection) or
    die(mysql_error());

$sql = "SELECT * FROM `users` WHERE ntid = '$_POST[ntid]' AND password = '$_POST[password]'";
    $result = @mysql_query($sql,$connection) or die(mysql_error());
    $num = @mysql_num_rows($result);

if ($num != 0) {
    $cookie_name = "auth";
    $cookie_value = "fook";
    $cookie_expire = "0";
    $cookie_domain = $domain;

setcookie($cookie_name, $cookie_value, $cookie_expire, "/", $cookie_domain, 0);
    header ("Location: http://" . $domain . "getin.php");