Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 44

Thread: changing iframe content with flash buttons

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Currently: New York/Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 519 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    If the content you're loading in is also flash you can do it that way.

    But this technique does work as I've proven with my demo.

    If you would like me to troubleshoot this for you, feel free to post your source (.fla for the bar).

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hey medyman, thanks for replying

    The content im trying to load into the IFrame is html based

    Code:
    on (release) {
    getURL("contact.html","myframe");
    }
    This seems to be the suggested code, from most of the forums and threads ive read, Ive also tried removing the "" from around the frame id, but didnt help unfortunatley. the Url link is clearly working as it opens the required HTML file but only in a seperate window, Its just getting it to open in the Iframe. Do i need to declare the Iframes existence in flash somehow? Do you know if CSS could be causing the prolbems?

    Thanks man

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Currently: New York/Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 519 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    Hey...

    Try to do two things:
    1) Change all the buttons to movieclips and use AS for onRollOver/onRollOut
    2) Move all actions to a dedicated actions layer

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I had the same issue as you do. There is no problem with your code, but you need to change the global security settings of your Adobe flash player.

    Here is what you do
    1st -- go to the adobe site:
    http://www.macromedia.com/support/do...manager04.html

    2nd --choose the tab "Global Security Settings" and check the radio button "always allow"

    3rd-- go to edit locations...click add a location: here you can pick a trusted location on your computer for your files/folders. I picked my desktop, but you can of course also make a trusted folder.

    Make sure your dreamweaver folder/files is/are in your picked location(for me that was my desktop) then try and see if your flash button loads the I frame..it should work. You may have to change these settings for every browser you choose to test with.

    I hope this works for you...it did for me anyway.

    good luck
    luckysas

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Medyman View Post
    If the content you're loading in is also flash you can do it that way.

    But this technique does work as I've proven with my demo.

    If you would like me to troubleshoot this for you, feel free to post your source (.fla for the bar).
    Medyman, or anyone,
    I am wondering if you would be able to help me figure out how to get this menu to work in an iframe. I am having trouble getting the code to work for the flash menu since it isn't a static menu (it has 3 frames). I cannot figure out where it needs to go, or even if it needs to be a little different.
    thank you for any help you may have.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Also, I know you can have one link open 2 different things in 2 separate iframes on the same page. It will be the same scrolling menu opening a flash movie in one iframe and html text in a smaller iframe. Would this require any different coding? Please help.
    thanks.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,486
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Do you have an active URL to see what you are trying to accomplish? I get the basic idea but would like to see more before I start spouting options.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {OSTU - Psycho} {Invasion - Team}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @Negative_Chaos
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    http://www.graphixxdesign.com/test f...sidential.html

    I uploaded the files here.
    It may be a little funky because some stuff came in wierd at the moment.
    I currently put google in the iframe the flash movie will go into. Lets say that one will be called "barr.swf", etc or if it should be in an html page, "barr.html", etc. corresponding to the buttons.
    Then the yahoo window will have the small text html. Call that "barr_descrp.html", etc...

    When the first button in the scrolling menu gets released, I want barr.swf (barr.html) to open and at the same time, barr_descrp.html will load also.

    I hope that is clear enough. Let me know what you think.
    thanks.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,486
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Have you tried a dual on release yet? I haven't tested it** but in theory it should work...

    Code:
    on (release) {
         getURL("barr.html", Iframe_ID);
         getURL("barr_descript.html", Iframe_ID2);
    }
    this would work better if your buttons are MCs instead of buttons, but either way it shouldn't be effected.

    Let me know.



    ** Haven't tested it in frames.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {OSTU - Psycho} {Invasion - Team}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @Negative_Chaos
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    The problem is that I am not sure on what frame I am supposed to put that code on, since I have 3 frames.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •