Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: changing iframe content with flash buttons

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default changing iframe content with flash buttons

    Um hi guys.
    I just started developing a page. I did a nice flash menuand been thinking about using iframe for changing the sub sites.
    I know the procedure with simple text links:
    <a href="somesite.html" target="nameofmineiframe"> LINK </a>

    I tried something similiar in flash with the geturl function like this:
    on (release) {
    getURL("uvod.html", "nameofmineiframe");
    }


    but somehow it just opens uvod.html in a new window and not in my desired iframe.
    pls if any suggestions, I would be very grateful.

    PS: I am sorry if this was posted already,I didnt find it. I did find some similiar posts but nothing that could help me, so I started this thread

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Currently: New York/Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 519 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    I'm thinking its your syntax...the method should be correct.

    Try this;

    Code:
    on (release) {
    getURL("uvod.html", nameofiframe);
    }
    No quotes around the nameofiframe.

    HTH

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    hmm thanks for the tip, but its still the same new window opening situation. I hope its even possible, I dont wonna give up on my iframe or my flash menu.
    thanks anyway

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Currently: New York/Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 519 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    it's possible! I do it all the time.
    Are you sure that your iframe is labeled correctly?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi there!

    I was just wondering if you managed to get your iframe and flash buttons to linup? Im in the same situation at the moment, i can get the URL to open up fine in a seperate window, it just wont go into the Iframe?! I tried the codes suggested above but still with no joy

    Any help would be greatly appreciated as this is now driving me to the brink of madness

    Thanks all!

    LWH

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Currently: New York/Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 519 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    That is the code.

    I see that a lot of people have troubles with this so I've put a demo online. Hopefully it'll help.

    Live demo is here. (The images are inside of an iframe)
    .fla source is here.
    Last edited by Medyman; 07-06-2007 at 09:09 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Medyman View Post
    That is the code.

    I see that a lot of people have troubles with this so I've put a demo online. Hopefully it'll help.

    Live demo is here. (The images are inside of an iframe)
    .fla source is here.
    This is great! thanks man, Ive had a look through and i can see how you've coded it all up... and as far as i can tell, i cant see any reason why my version is strugling, Still opens in a seperate window Ive used the following as my action in flash

    Code:
    this.contact.onRelease = function() {
    	getURL("contact.html", "myframe");
    };
    And ive checked my html files and that has the iframe refrenced as follows

    Code:
      <div id="content">
    	<iframe id="myframe" allowtransparency="true" src="welcome.html" scrolling="no" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" frameborder="0" vspace="0" hspace="50" style="overflow:visible; width:100%; display:none;"></iframe>
        </div>
    Any more suggestions? You can check out the full source here:

    http://www.long-walk-home.co.uk/laura/Home.html
    (only the contact button on the flash menu is my tester)

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Currently: New York/Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,735
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 519 Times in 507 Posts

    Default

    Your HTML is wrong.

    It should be <iframe name="myframe"></iframe>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Medyman View Post
    Your HTML is wrong.

    It should be <iframe name="myframe"></iframe>
    Thanks man, I gave it a try but i still seem to be having problems, changing "ID" to "name" didnt seem to make any difference to the flash menu, but it did cut the visible area of the iframe down and remove its scrolling ability, so in order to restore the current pages ive had to opt back to the "ID" tag

    Thanks for the advice anyway man

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hey Folks

    Im still having problems trying to link the flash button to my Iframe, The point that it opens, just not in the iframe, is becoming increasingly hopeless. Please if anyone knows of any alternative methods please speak up! Not just for me but for the many other who seem to have taken intrest in this topic.

    Anyone?

    LWH

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •